Wine Cookies (Original Italian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
The easiest cookie recipe ever. Although to improve the flavor slightly I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and a half of a lemon peel chopped finely. Half the batch I coated with regular sugar like the recipe suggested, the other half I added a little color and coated them with small, round, colored sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a very good Italian cookie. I thought it wouldn't be sweet enough because there isn't much sugar in the recipe, but it did have a nice sweetness to it. I used a Chianti wine (very dry) and I rolled the cookies in turbinado (raw) sugar instead of granulated sugar. My cookies were slightly purple before cooking. Then they turned a nice golden brown while they were baking. The taste reminds me of a really good sweet bread. This is a very unique cookie and I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
These cookies are fantastic! They are light and crisp and even PURPLE!! They are just like the ones that my grandma used to make when she came here from Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Okay, I really like these cookies, which is different bc I'm not a big crispy cookie fan. However, I really don't like stuff that is way too sweet and these really aren't. I love how cute they are too. I'm not sure I did it correctly since the other photos don't look like mine, but I rolled the dough then rolled into little pinwheel shapes. I baked for 20 min, not 25, which was perfect for my oven. They turn out very cute, very small, and very delicious. I have to agree with another reviewer who said that rolling in the sugar is important--gives just the right amount of sweetness. I also like the hint of wine flavor. All, in all, a nice little cookie that's perfect with tea. A great way to use up the rest of my red wine! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very yummy, but one important step was left out of the directions. The oil must be added to the dry ingredients BEFORE the wine and worked into them well, first. This coats the flour and keeps it from soaking up as much wine and becoming gluey. Doing this, along with letting the dough cool awhile in the refrigerator before forming the cookies, means no sticky dough. In fact the dough turns out elastic and just like playdough--very easy to handle. To get the 2" diameter cookies, pull off just enough to make balls a little under an inch in diameter. They will be the right size when you flatten them. Be generous with the sugar coating. These go great with a cup of black tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
These were delicious. I made half the recipe because I wasn't sure I'd like them, but kept the amount of sugar the same. The one thing I did not do, however, is grease the pan, which I *strongly* recommend! They were impossible to get off the pan without breaking them. Even my children loved these mildly sweet, yeasty tasting cookies. I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
These are perfect! Anyone who says they're not a cookie doesn't know what a wine cookie is supposed to be. No, it's not a Chipsahoy, but it's an excellent wine cookie... easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Wow! The house smelled really good while these were baking. I was skeptical of the recipe since it called for so few ingredients (plus it seemed like a lot of liquid for the amount of flour), but it came out great. I made 2/3 of a recipe. I wasn't sure what shape to make the cookies (a ring?), so I made a pinwheel like another reviewer did. I rolled the entire cookie in sugar, including the bottom, which I don't recommend doing. Definitely roll it in sugar, since it gives it the perfect amount of sweetness, but rolling the bottom in sugar makes it burn to the pan. The cookies don't spread at all. I made them pretty thick, about 1", so the inside was soft while the outside was crisp. I liked them this way, but next time I will make them 1/2" thick, as I wasn't 100% sure the inside was cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I also had trouble being able to roll it out and make them into spirals the first time because they were so sticky. However, the second time I made the recipe, I made the full recipe instead of halving it, and I didn't have too much trouble with the rolling. These cookies taste divine - like sugared yeast cookies! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very tasty!!! Strange, but good. I love wine, so that's probably why I like these so much. I think it's important to remember when you cook with wine, you should use a tasty, quality wine. Otherwise the end result will not be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States