Wine Cookies (Original Italian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I wanted to make these because my BF gets them from his aunt and gives them to me all the time. I followed the recipe to the T except used Chardonay, well they were soft, not curunchy at all, but still very yeasty, like a sweet bread taste, very good. Maybe it's red wine that makes them crunch? I will try again with the red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Okay i loooooove wine so i had to try these! These are good but dont get your taste buds ready for a "cookie" think of a scone type baked good. Not too sweet but still great with a glass of wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil creamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I also had trouble being able to roll it out and make them into spirals the first time because they were so sticky. However, the second time I made the recipe, I made the full recipe instead of halving it, and I didn't have too much trouble with the rolling. These cookies taste divine - like sugared yeast cookies! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Eddie G
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used a hearty zinfandel and made the cookies a little larger than suggested (about 3 inches in diameter and 1 inch in height). The end result was more like a sweet bread than a cookie, which I absolutely loved...even fresh out of the oven! Great with coffee, but even better with the rest of my zin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I don't know what went wrong, but the dough was so sticky/oily, I could barely shape them on the cookie sheet. Went ahead and rolled them in turbinado sugar and baked. They puffed up when baked and didn't look "done" so I left in oven about 35 minutes and bottoms burned. Tops were edible, but I couldn't serve them. Really wanted these cookies to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Sorry, didn't care for these at all. I may have done something wrong, though I followed the recipe to the T. Even my Father, who seems to like everything, thought they were just "ok". Even threw out half the dough because I knew something just wasn't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a very good Italian cookie. I thought it wouldn't be sweet enough because there isn't much sugar in the recipe, but it did have a nice sweetness to it. I used a Chianti wine (very dry) and I rolled the cookies in turbinado (raw) sugar instead of granulated sugar. My cookies were slightly purple before cooking. Then they turned a nice golden brown while they were baking. The taste reminds me of a really good sweet bread. This is a very unique cookie and I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very tasty!!! Strange, but good. I love wine, so that's probably why I like these so much. I think it's important to remember when you cook with wine, you should use a tasty, quality wine. Otherwise the end result will not be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Okay, I really like these cookies, which is different bc I'm not a big crispy cookie fan. However, I really don't like stuff that is way too sweet and these really aren't. I love how cute they are too. I'm not sure I did it correctly since the other photos don't look like mine, but I rolled the dough then rolled into little pinwheel shapes. I baked for 20 min, not 25, which was perfect for my oven. They turn out very cute, very small, and very delicious. I have to agree with another reviewer who said that rolling in the sugar is important--gives just the right amount of sweetness. I also like the hint of wine flavor. All, in all, a nice little cookie that's perfect with tea. A great way to use up the rest of my red wine! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Fantastic... Just remember to coat the sugar on both sides... for extra crunchiness, make it thinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States