Wine Cookies (Original Italian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wasn't sure what to expect with these. They did not smell like cookies at all while they were baking. The dough is pretty soft to work with and when rolling into a log shape they didn't hold the shape very well. And after they cooked I thought the little pinwheels were very unappetizing. Towards the end, I just formed balls and smashed them flat, then dreged them in sugar. As for flavor, they remind me of a little biscuit more than a cookie. Interesting to try, but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Mine were nothing to look at, but man did they taste good!!! What a great cookie to go with a hot cup of tea. Not very sweet (which is why they're so great with tea!!) but you could easily add more if a sweeter cookie was more your style. I've used this recipe many times. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Delicious! I wasn't sure how good it would be with so little sugar, but it was just sweet enough, and the sugar on the outside really makes it. Mine didn't get hard and crisp all the way through, just on the outside. But they were still good even soft on the inside. Great way to use up that left over wine - and soo easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I thought these were "just okay", others did not care for their flavour. Not my taste in a cookie. (I tried them because they were pretty much a 5 star recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Interesting for something different. I made these specifically to use up a bottle of red mulled wine that was collecting dust well after Christmas. I think the spices gave it a nice touch, although on an average basis I think I'd rather just drink the wine, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I think these may be an acquired taste, but I liked them. The dough was -awful- before being rolled in sugar, but thereafter fine. The flavour was eerily reminiscent of a grape jelly-and-butter sandwich: this was an unexpected boon. (I used port, so, of course they were a wee bit sweeter than written, anyway.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kind*machine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savoy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
i really wanted to like this recipe. i'm sure it's just a matter of personal taste that i don't. first time around i made them exactly as the recipe was written even though i was skeptical about the absence of salt. after i tasted them i realized 1) i really did miss the salt and 2) that the taste was just not there for me. so really wanting to make this a delicious cookie that i would love i made them again, this time with a tsp of salt and one other change: i put melted butter instead of oil. i still don't like these cookies. my tastes are pretty varied and i am very open minded about new things, but this just wasn't the recipe for me. i really wish it was! a traditional recipe passed down for generations has so much appeal. unfortunately the taste of these cookies was just not what i hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Wow! The house smelled really good while these were baking. I was skeptical of the recipe since it called for so few ingredients (plus it seemed like a lot of liquid for the amount of flour), but it came out great. I made 2/3 of a recipe. I wasn't sure what shape to make the cookies (a ring?), so I made a pinwheel like another reviewer did. I rolled the entire cookie in sugar, including the bottom, which I don't recommend doing. Definitely roll it in sugar, since it gives it the perfect amount of sweetness, but rolling the bottom in sugar makes it burn to the pan. The cookies don't spread at all. I made them pretty thick, about 1", so the inside was soft while the outside was crisp. I liked them this way, but next time I will make them 1/2" thick, as I wasn't 100% sure the inside was cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I rolled mine in raw sugar crystals, so they ended up with a nice crunch to them. The wine flavor is not very strong, but added a hint of complexity to this plain, hard, crunchy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My guests said they were good... but I think they were being polite. Hard, dry and a 'blah' flavor. They're so easy to make and the color is so interesting - I just wish they tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States