Wine Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very interesting. We liked and will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I was tired of the same old baked potato so I tried this recipe over the the weekend. WOW! I did substitute olive oil for butter and next time I may substitute marsala for sherry but this one is sure to become a staple in my home. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Tasted good, but I don't think the Sherry really added much to the recipe. Could have just as easily made a normal baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I've been making these for years, they are great on the grill as well. We put different twist such as Cajun spices, Italian, and Greek seasoning. We do this with yellow crook neck squash too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea Gary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
When I told everyone that I was bringing these to a dinner party, most said "ewww". However, their reactions were much different when they ate it. I used my electric carving knife, hoping it would be easier to stuff things into the cuts. Whe had trouble getting the onion in, no less the butter. I used olive oil. I also added some Rosemary. It was a hit! Next time, I will try a mandalin for thinner slices of onion, and melted butter. I will be making this again, and so will the guests who asked for the recipe. Oh! I also bought a decent bottle of sherry, as they say, "if you wouldn't drink it, why cook with it." Same taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Awesome. I have done many variations on this including cutting potatoes up small or coating potatoes with olive oil and rolling in garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were so good! I had rose wine and used that. I probably used less onion and more butter than the recipe called for, and I added some salt and pepper before baking them. Definitely a make-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Sorry, I did not care for this potato recipe. I could only eat 2 or 3 bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
A great recipe! I used olive oil and marsala cooking wine, but I left everything else the same. Next time, I'll definitely add some salt and pepper before I bake them, though. A few tips on stuffing the potatoes: Cut them about 3/4 of the way through, and slide a thin butter knife into the cuts and turn it slightly sideways so it holds the potato open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Somethng easy and different. I sliced mine into thin wedges and layered with onion and butter. I added a little salt and pepper because some comments mentioned this recipe was too bland. I poured the cooking wine on top, closed up tin foil and baked. Tender and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States