Wilted Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made a ton of changes to this recipe to make it my own. I put the oil, vinegar, garlic, lemon, salt, and pepper into a pot on medium heat. I added the spinach and cooked it until the spinach was soft, but not mushy (like when you steam). Cooking it this way is how you wilt spinach. This recipe is actually having you steam it. All my guests absolutely loved it as it was tasty and spinach done a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I found fresh young spinach in the wholesalers on Saturday, so bought 2 huge bags (that's a total of over 5 pounds!) and we have been eating it since (it is now Thursday) in various forms. I decided to check out AR recipes for somethng different for last evening meal. Selected this one because I had all the ingredients to hand. My only trouble with this recipe is that it has caused marital strife, as my wife asked me why I had waited so long before doing this for her! We had it as a side with grilled Lamb filets and loved that simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Don't let the name fool you, this "steamed" spinach had a wonderful taste. Very Middleastern flavor that I love. I didn't have pine nuts on hand, and I realize that is why the recipe is high calorie. Left it out and it was still great. It's very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Not very attractive--the amount of dressing overpowers the limp spinach. I'd rather have this over fresh spinach, or at least double the amount of wilted spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is incredible!! I would say as others have that there is waaaay too much dressing for the amount of spinach. I would highly reccomend doubling the amount of spinach at least. (This could make it tough unless you have a very large steamer.) Luckily I caught this and just doubled the dressing recipe and saved half of it for later - probably tomorrow. I also would say throwing in some pancetta (or bacon) and some crumbles of blue cheese or something similar. Other than that this flavor blew my mind and I'll be having it over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
this salad was really lovely. I think the pine nuts would definitely be missed if deductec from the recipe. I didn't have the steamer so i put my metal strainer on top of boiling water and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Very good! I followed the recipe almost exactly--I didn't have balsamic vinegar, so used red wine vinegar instead. Even my picky preschooler and toddler ate it. It's a great recipe for such a healthy "superfood"!!! I suspect it would also be excellent with a bit of parmesan cheese sprinkled over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Delicious! I will definitely make this again. However, I used 12 oz. of spinach with the original amount of dressing, which was perfect because the spinach cooks down so much. Also, I toasted and chopped the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
amazing recipe! my 14 year old daughter thought this was the best vegetable she ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe - I made the dressing according to the recipe and it was perfect. I fed it to my boyfriend who shys away from any recipe that is not teeming with strong flavors. He was pleasantly surprised by this dish and asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States