Wilted Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was very good. I made it as shown the first time. The second time, I changed it up a bit, and liked it even better. Instead of green onions, I used a red onion. (Vidalia onions were even better) I did not add the 2 eggs to the dressing. I just couldn't do it. I used red wine vinegar instead and used splenda instead of the sugar. My husband and family all really loved it. Served with some garlic bread, and boom, dinner was done. I'm thinking of serving this to the kids football team next week for thier pre game salad. (I'll probably use olive oil instead of the bacon greese for the dressing though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Great salad! I omitted the two raw eggs. I added one tablespoon of honey rather than the sugar, and used olive oil rather than bacon grease. I added toasted walnuts and craisins. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I used Balsamic vinegar instead and a little less bacon drippings and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I thought this was an excellent salad with a few changes. I completely omitted step #1...I did not add the boiled eggs. I also omitted the green onions (not my favorite). Instead I added some roasted walnuts and goat cheese. Though this is not really a healthy salad, it tasted excellent. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I sauteed some chopped onions with the bacon and then mixed in the rest of the dressing ingredients. I didn't use any hard boiled eggs...don't like them....served mine with lots of sliced baby cremini mushrooms, thinly sliced red onion and croutons....AMAZING! I am going to try this with already browned and crisped bacon pieces and add a bit of olive oil to make it a bit healthier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this exactally as the directions stated and it was WONDERFUL. I was hoping to have some leftover to take home from our Thanksgiving meal but there wasn't any left. The only thing I did was use all white vinegar because I didn't have any red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was excellent, only used a fraction of the bacon drippings and no eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. READ Carefully. The last 2 eggs/sauce mixture is added to bacon grease on burner and simmered. I simmered for much longer than 1 minute to get the sauce right (about 3min). The sauce turns out great and eggs are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Made this last night and will again in 2 days (for company). I really recommend reading the recipe through before starting. The egg added raw to the bacon grease took me by surprise. I had just read the ingred. and hard boiled them all. Also please note that this is written for 12 servings. Making it for 4 people was tricky by doable. Next time I will add more time to the eggs for hardboiling. Mine came out at soft boil which wasn't bad, but isn't for everyone. Also a tip: Use "old eggs-not as fresh" they're easier to peel. And you shouldn't cover the eggs as directed. By doing that it traps the sulfure and causes the egg yolk to develope the green ring around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is pretty much the recipe my grandmother used when I was a child. However she did not use eggs in the dressing. This was the only way my dad would eat spinach. By the way, my grandmother was born in 1875 and this was the way her mother made this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States