Wilted Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was excellent, only used a fraction of the bacon drippings and no eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. READ Carefully. The last 2 eggs/sauce mixture is added to bacon grease on burner and simmered. I simmered for much longer than 1 minute to get the sauce right (about 3min). The sauce turns out great and eggs are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Made this last night and will again in 2 days (for company). I really recommend reading the recipe through before starting. The egg added raw to the bacon grease took me by surprise. I had just read the ingred. and hard boiled them all. Also please note that this is written for 12 servings. Making it for 4 people was tricky by doable. Next time I will add more time to the eggs for hardboiling. Mine came out at soft boil which wasn't bad, but isn't for everyone. Also a tip: Use "old eggs-not as fresh" they're easier to peel. And you shouldn't cover the eggs as directed. By doing that it traps the sulfure and causes the egg yolk to develope the green ring around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is pretty much the recipe my grandmother used when I was a child. However she did not use eggs in the dressing. This was the only way my dad would eat spinach. By the way, my grandmother was born in 1875 and this was the way her mother made this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great recipe but replace the bacon drippings with warmed olive oil and the vinegar with balsamic vinegar, cut the sugar to two tablespoons and add freshly crushed garlic. Proceed with the directions. You wont have a heavy greasy taste with the olive oil and it will be much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Moorer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Puckett, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is the first receipe I have found that tastes like I get in a big expensive restaurant. My boyfriend said he doesn't really like green lettuce and has always not eaten spinach when I cook it. But he cleaned the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
The kids and I loved it. Hubby complained about being "meat deprived" because I served this as a meal. Guess what? He survived. It was so wonderful, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This salad is deeeelish! I made it while on a camping trip three years ago and my husband's family still brings up how good it was. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I LOVE this salad! My picky husband loves it, too. We didn't use the boiled eggs on the salad, though. Instead we added almonds and cranberries. We are definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was great. The whole family loved it! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States