Wilted Cabbage Salad with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
For what this is, I gave it five stars. It's not something you'll see everywhere, and it's easy (if you use a processor for shredding the cabbage) and surprisingly delicious. We ate this with fresh grilled brats, pickled eggs, beer, and German potato pancakes (from this site). Since the bacon is crumbled, I used bacon end pieces, which are considerably cheaper than regular bacon. I also used white wine vinegar because that's what I had. With the high fat content of everything on the menu, smaller portions came naturally, were enjoyed and satisfying. For something unusual for your guests, this one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I have been making this for years.love love love it . i do add a bit fo garlic salt to flavor and have not tried it with the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My Family has made this for years...This is a old Pennslyvania Dutch Recipe... Fry bacon and save the grease...set bacon aside..we boil red potatato's, cool them down, slice, fry in bacon grease and onions.....have the cabbage cut up into bite size pieces...fry in bacon grease and steam with water with lid on...add potatoe's and cut up bacon...when wilted to your liking serve ..The only thing I hate is the smell it leaves in your kitchen...so I fry it on my patio...My whole family LOVES IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I made this for a freind's parents who are Chinese. I was worrying that the vinegar flavor would be too strong, but they liked it. So I am giving it a five for pleasing both the western-inclined and eastern-inclined palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
WELL NOW, I HAVE BEEN EATING THIS FOR AT LEAST 50 YEARS OR SO. SAUTEED ONIONS GO WITH THIS RECIPE. VINEGAR WAS NOT A ROUTINE STAPLE BUT IS GOOD IN IT. AND I AGREE WITH THE OPTIONAL ADDITIONS. SO GLAD TO SEE THIS IN PRINT. I HAD TOTALLY FORGOTTEN THE RECIPE......(UMMMMMMMY FOR THE TUMMY). BUT YEARS AGO IT HAD THE UNGLAMEROUS NAME OF JUST PLAIN OLD 'FRIED CABBAGE". GREEN ONIONS ARE GREAT WITH THIS TOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Great recipe. I've been making a similar one for 45 years. I leave out the garlic because I can't have it. Wonderful side dish. Versatile. Try the other versions with the sour cream, for instance. My family never cared for cabbage, but they enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
1-5-12: Ann says 'best cooked cabbage I've ever had.' 2-22-13: Same reaction this time. 3-12-13: Ditto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I grow my own cabbage and always get a LOT. Since my husband doesn't like overcooked cabbage, I'm always looking for something new, simple and yummy. This is perfect! The kids adore it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWCHOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a great dish. I have not had it since I left home. Actually have not thought of it in years. My mom use to make it (god bless you & miss u) anyway.... Not sure about the review from the person that said they "didnt want to loose wait that bad" well if you want to rest assure you dont want to be eating this. BUT, if your looking for taste of home and comfort...This is the ticket. Thanks so much for the reposting of it since some of the reviews are rather old.. THIS IS A GREAT DISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Versatile and delicious. I skipped the vinegar and added tomatoes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States