Wilted Cabbage Salad with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
For what this is, I gave it five stars. It's not something you'll see everywhere, and it's easy (if you use a processor for shredding the cabbage) and surprisingly delicious. We ate this with fresh grilled brats, pickled eggs, beer, and German potato pancakes (from this site). Since the bacon is crumbled, I used bacon end pieces, which are considerably cheaper than regular bacon. I also used white wine vinegar because that's what I had. With the high fat content of everything on the menu, smaller portions came naturally, were enjoyed and satisfying. For something unusual for your guests, this one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Between baking, shopping, working, additional Christmas decorating and spending more time than I should trying to get our cat "Nikky" OUT of our Christmas tree, I haven't spent a whole lot of time on dinner this week. This great recipe was a good starter for our soup. I don't like tarragon, so I used cider vinegar instead. Thanks Barrett and happy holidays to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I made this for a freind's parents who are Chinese. I was worrying that the vinegar flavor would be too strong, but they liked it. So I am giving it a five for pleasing both the western-inclined and eastern-inclined palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My Family has made this for years...This is a old Pennslyvania Dutch Recipe... Fry bacon and save the grease...set bacon aside..we boil red potatato's, cool them down, slice, fry in bacon grease and onions.....have the cabbage cut up into bite size pieces...fry in bacon grease and steam with water with lid on...add potatoe's and cut up bacon...when wilted to your liking serve ..The only thing I hate is the smell it leaves in your kitchen...so I fry it on my patio...My whole family LOVES IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This is a great side dish for a fall supper. I served it with corned beef and boiled potatoes with cracked pepper. It was a good compliment to the meat and starch. I think this is a great, easy salad to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
WELL NOW, I HAVE BEEN EATING THIS FOR AT LEAST 50 YEARS OR SO. SAUTEED ONIONS GO WITH THIS RECIPE. VINEGAR WAS NOT A ROUTINE STAPLE BUT IS GOOD IN IT. AND I AGREE WITH THE OPTIONAL ADDITIONS. SO GLAD TO SEE THIS IN PRINT. I HAD TOTALLY FORGOTTEN THE RECIPE......(UMMMMMMMY FOR THE TUMMY). BUT YEARS AGO IT HAD THE UNGLAMEROUS NAME OF JUST PLAIN OLD 'FRIED CABBAGE". GREEN ONIONS ARE GREAT WITH THIS TOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This would be good as a side dish. Unfortunately, I tried to use it as a main dish, and the vinegar cabbage taste was too strong for that use, and I gave my family tummy aches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Great recipe. I've been making a similar one for 45 years. I leave out the garlic because I can't have it. Wonderful side dish. Versatile. Try the other versions with the sour cream, for instance. My family never cared for cabbage, but they enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
i dont want to lose weight that bad. thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dublin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
When I have a head of cabbage in the house I tend to try several different recipes to try from this website. I love wilted cabbage and bacon but have only had it with a dash of sugar. That being said this had a stronger vinegar taste than I would've like. It did balance out the meal with grilled kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States