Wilted Cabbage Salad with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My kids would not eat this. I used Apple Cider Vinegar instead. Very sour. Greasy because of all that bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Versatile and delicious. I skipped the vinegar and added tomatoes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I grow my own cabbage and always get a LOT. Since my husband doesn't like overcooked cabbage, I'm always looking for something new, simple and yummy. This is perfect! The kids adore it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWCHOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Pretty good. I added noodles to this for more consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a great dish. I have not had it since I left home. Actually have not thought of it in years. My mom use to make it (god bless you & miss u) anyway.... Not sure about the review from the person that said they "didnt want to loose wait that bad" well if you want to rest assure you dont want to be eating this. BUT, if your looking for taste of home and comfort...This is the ticket. Thanks so much for the reposting of it since some of the reviews are rather old.. THIS IS A GREAT DISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Maybe it was because I subbed rice vinegar for tarragon, but this had kind of a weird aftertaste. For convenience, I used 3/4 of a bag of coleslaw mix (and about 1/2 the bacon grease.) Probably wouldn't make it again. Edit: I've changed my stars, because like another reviewer, this gave me a stomache later. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I have been making this for years.love love love it . i do add a bit fo garlic salt to flavor and have not tried it with the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good! What I did different was use seasoned vinager and then added some dried terragon and switch to turkey bacon. YUM. A nice change for a side veggie dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Delicious country cooking. My only strong suggestion would be to throw out the bacon grease and use olive or canola oil. By far the biggest health problem with bacon is in the grease, particularly because the carcinogenic nitrosamines concentrate in the grease. That's why we don't cook our eggs in saved bacon grease any more--it's particularly unhealthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
WELL NOW, I HAVE BEEN EATING THIS FOR AT LEAST 50 YEARS OR SO. SAUTEED ONIONS GO WITH THIS RECIPE. VINEGAR WAS NOT A ROUTINE STAPLE BUT IS GOOD IN IT. AND I AGREE WITH THE OPTIONAL ADDITIONS. SO GLAD TO SEE THIS IN PRINT. I HAD TOTALLY FORGOTTEN THE RECIPE......(UMMMMMMMY FOR THE TUMMY). BUT YEARS AGO IT HAD THE UNGLAMEROUS NAME OF JUST PLAIN OLD 'FRIED CABBAGE". GREEN ONIONS ARE GREAT WITH THIS TOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States