Wilted Arugula and Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very good. I tried it as written and have also varied it. Instead of the sherry I added a tablespoon of pernod. That was phenomenal. I've also added it to an omelette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Mensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I wasn't sure about cooking arugula so I was happy to see this recipe. I love arugula but am the only one eating it in my household so I often have a bit too much to consume while it's fresh. Now I know I can easily saute it. I've made it almost exactly to the recipe, using the suggested vegetable broth, and I've also altered it. Here's a great alteration: instead of the sherry I added a tablespoon of Pernod. I've also added extra veggies --- whatever is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacktie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Excellent! I like greens that are not grayish but I notice that a quick sautee sometimes is not enough. The flavors together were wonderful. I did finely dice the red pepper and onion. Ratio of mushrooms to the other veg was twice their size. Paired it with hamburger steak. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Wehr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Loved this with Feta on top! Threw the leftovers in an omlette the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was good. I was glad I added the red pepper flakes as some have suggested, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks, Jumaha, for coming to my rescue. Wanted to try a recipe for arugula that was sauteed and not raw in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iwashmycar
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was so simple! So good!. I did not have any mushrooms so I just made it without, but did add spinach leaves. Also go easy on the onion, or heavy on the greens, as the leaves will cook way down and it'll be half onions / half greens. Was great as a quick lunch dish to get rid of a container of arugula and spinach I had in the fridge! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iwashmycar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I had some baby arugula and baby spinach on their last legs and since greens wilt down so much when cooked this recipe made quick use of both. Other than adding the baby spinach and omitting the red pepper flakes I made no other changes. The addition of the portobello mushrooms, sherry and chicken broth contributed great flavor, resulting in a particularly special simple vegetable side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This recipe wasn't bad. It was good. Though I love arugula like crazy, not so sure if I love it as much cooked. I think I would have like it more if it were spinach instead, but of course this is a personal preference and not a reflection on cooked arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Very tasty! Normally, I soften onions several minutes prior to adding garlic which I would recommend for this recipe as well. I topped this with goat cheese and ate it over penne pasta. Yum but also just as tasty on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States