Wilma's Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Thick, creamy and delicious. I used 2% milk and evaporated milk to keep the chowder fairly low-fat and it's still very rich tasting. I also used a 12 oz can of clams (instead of 6 1/2) for a little extra. This hit the spot on a cool rainy evening and tasted even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Wilma you out-did yourself with this one. So thick it wouldnt even fall off the spoon. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This chowder was very good--although it didn't have a strong enough clam flavor (even though I used an extra can of clams with the extra juice). It was actually better the next day. I began by frying some chopped bacon and sauteing the onion in the bacon grease, because I've never seen a recipe for clam chowder without bacon or salt pork. Then I followed the recipe as printed, sprinkling the bacon bits on the top of each bowl. I actually liked the idea of thickening with crackers instead of a flour/butter roux, though this may account for the starchy flavor versus the more appealing clam flavor. I'll use this again, though, perhaps using bottled clam juice in place of the water. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Absolutely excellent and soooo easy to make. Creamy, tasty and very comforting. I made it a rainy, gray, cold day and all the family enjoyed it so much! Way to go Wilma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I really wanted to love this recipe. It seemed like a healthy alternative to the clam chowders with cream or half and half. Unfortunately, I wasn't pleased with the result. It was thick, but the crackers made it seem mealy. My husband and daughter thought it was great, but even after doubling the clams, and using all clam juice instead of water, I thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Followed directions to a "T" but we did not think that there was a lot of flavor. Thanks for letting us try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Changed recipe to serve 8. Added half a large onion and one large carrot(instead of 2 onions), a can of cream of celery + milk to equal 4 cups of milk, added a little garlic powder & basil. Didn't add the crushed saltine crackers. Was absolutely delicious! Will make again. Thank you Wilma. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
One star is to much for this recipe, but there is nothing lower. this mess tasted like soda crackers and milk, everyone in the house tasted it and said it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I pureed potatoes and onions, added broccoli and 2 tbl spoons of flour instead of crackers. Quite tasty!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States