Williamsburg Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
The frosting for this cake was wonderful and the cake itself had a nice, old-fashioned taste. However, the next time I make this I will leave out the walnuts and raisins. I really did enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I used this recipe to make orange creamsicle cupcakes. Orange cupcakes with orange buttercream frosting. They were a huge hit. I cut the recipe in half and it made 14 cupcakes. I omitted the raisins and walnuts because I was looking for a simple orange cake. I substituted orange extract for some of the vanilla. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I love this cake. It has been my favorite for years. I lost my recipe, so was very glad to find this in time for my birthday as it has been my traditional cake for my birthday for many years. Easy, different and delicious. I like to bake mine in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Very tasty and amazing texture - well it does have 3 eggs and almost a cup of fat ;-) but that's why its a treat. I did replace the walnuts with pecans and used all butter (no shortening.) The 1T of zest gives a pretty mild flavor, so I think you could safely increase by 50% for a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the second time I have made this cake, it is absolutely fantastic! Today I replaced some of the white flour with whole wheat, some of the white sugar with brown. Haven't tried it yet as it just came out of the oven but it looks and smells delicious! Also, I used pecans instead of walnuts, and passed on the raisins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my mother's favorite cake. I've been making this for years, I got the recipe from the Silver Palate cookbook. The frosting is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made cupcakes by reducing the baking time - very yummy with vanilla buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was an excellent cake. I made it in two 9 inch round pans and spread the orange frosting between the layers and then over the top of the cake. The cake looked beautiful and tasted really wonderful. I didn't use walnuts (allergies) or raisins (didn't have any), but loved the cake and frosting on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this earlier in the year and I'm thrilled to see I saved the recipe in my box. This is THE recipe my mom used when I was growing up. Decadent, delightful, and delicious. Thanks for submitting this! ...we'll be making it again next week for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hui Min
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I have made this many times already, as a cake as well as cupcakes (makes 24 medium-size). It's a lovely cake - moist, soft and full of orange flavour. You can substitute part of the vanilla extract with orange oil, but the recipe is fine just the way it is. Sometimes I make the Williamsburg frosting as filling for a cake, or as topping for cupcakes. As frosting, it will be rather soft, so you must chill the cake with the frosting for a few hours before you take it out anywhere. And the frosting will melt in hot weather (I live in a tropical country).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States