Williamsburg Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
The frosting for this cake was wonderful and the cake itself had a nice, old-fashioned taste. However, the next time I make this I will leave out the walnuts and raisins. I really did enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I used this recipe to make orange creamsicle cupcakes. Orange cupcakes with orange buttercream frosting. They were a huge hit. I cut the recipe in half and it made 14 cupcakes. I omitted the raisins and walnuts because I was looking for a simple orange cake. I substituted orange extract for some of the vanilla. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Very tasty and amazing texture - well it does have 3 eggs and almost a cup of fat ;-) but that's why its a treat. I did replace the walnuts with pecans and used all butter (no shortening.) The 1T of zest gives a pretty mild flavor, so I think you could safely increase by 50% for a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I love this cake. It has been my favorite for years. I lost my recipe, so was very glad to find this in time for my birthday as it has been my traditional cake for my birthday for many years. Easy, different and delicious. I like to bake mine in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Nice, fresh-tasting cake, made even better with a fresh orange buttercream frosting. For my tastes the additions of nuts and raisins, traditional as they are, would not be an improvement for this cake, so I left them both out. I made a half recipe for 12 cupcakes, still adding the full 1-1/2 tsp. of fresh orange zest which contributed a distinct fresh orange flavor that I loved. For these 12 cupcakes I used this frosting: 2 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 c. butter, 1 tsp. vanilla. 1 tsp. fresh orange zest and about 2 T. fresh orange juice. The cake has a relatively tight crumb, and is a pretty, delicate yellow. It doesn't scream ORANGE even after doubling the amount of zest so the more intensely flavored frosting was a nice contrast. Four stars rather than five because this orange cake does need the extra oomph doubling the orange zest gave it. Also, because the Williamsburg Butter Frosting directed to accompany it is not the best complement with its relatively large amount of orange liqueur. Fresh orange juice, in my opinion, is a far better alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the second time I have made this cake, it is absolutely fantastic! Today I replaced some of the white flour with whole wheat, some of the white sugar with brown. Haven't tried it yet as it just came out of the oven but it looks and smells delicious! Also, I used pecans instead of walnuts, and passed on the raisins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my mother's favorite cake. I've been making this for years, I got the recipe from the Silver Palate cookbook. The frosting is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made cupcakes by reducing the baking time - very yummy with vanilla buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hui Min
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I have made this many times already, as a cake as well as cupcakes (makes 24 medium-size). It's a lovely cake - moist, soft and full of orange flavour. You can substitute part of the vanilla extract with orange oil, but the recipe is fine just the way it is. Sometimes I make the Williamsburg frosting as filling for a cake, or as topping for cupcakes. As frosting, it will be rather soft, so you must chill the cake with the frosting for a few hours before you take it out anywhere. And the frosting will melt in hot weather (I live in a tropical country).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this earlier in the year and I'm thrilled to see I saved the recipe in my box. This is THE recipe my mom used when I was growing up. Decadent, delightful, and delicious. Thanks for submitting this! ...we'll be making it again next week for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States