Williamsburg Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
The frosting for this cake was wonderful and the cake itself had a nice, old-fashioned taste. However, the next time I make this I will leave out the walnuts and raisins. I really did enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I love this cake. It has been my favorite for years. I lost my recipe, so was very glad to find this in time for my birthday as it has been my traditional cake for my birthday for many years. Easy, different and delicious. I like to bake mine in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my mother's favorite cake. I've been making this for years, I got the recipe from the Silver Palate cookbook. The frosting is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the second time I have made this cake, it is absolutely fantastic! Today I replaced some of the white flour with whole wheat, some of the white sugar with brown. Haven't tried it yet as it just came out of the oven but it looks and smells delicious! Also, I used pecans instead of walnuts, and passed on the raisins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was an excellent cake. I made it in two 9 inch round pans and spread the orange frosting between the layers and then over the top of the cake. The cake looked beautiful and tasted really wonderful. I didn't use walnuts (allergies) or raisins (didn't have any), but loved the cake and frosting on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
a great recipe. luv it. super easy too. at first i was taken a back by the method of this cake, but then, the result- yummy. the only thing that i'll change next time, is the sugar amount. too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Very tasty and amazing texture - well it does have 3 eggs and almost a cup of fat ;-) but that's why its a treat. I did replace the walnuts with pecans and used all butter (no shortening.) The 1T of zest gives a pretty mild flavor, so I think you could safely increase by 50% for a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this earlier in the year and I'm thrilled to see I saved the recipe in my box. This is THE recipe my mom used when I was growing up. Decadent, delightful, and delicious. Thanks for submitting this! ...we'll be making it again next week for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I used this recipe to make orange creamsicle cupcakes. Orange cupcakes with orange buttercream frosting. They were a huge hit. I cut the recipe in half and it made 14 cupcakes. I omitted the raisins and walnuts because I was looking for a simple orange cake. I substituted orange extract for some of the vanilla. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Great recipe for a homemade orange cake- I can't use the raisins or nuts since my family is very picky- the nutrition info is off because I don't know anyone who gets 18 servings out of one 9x13 cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States