Williamsburg Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Nice, fresh-tasting cake, made even better with a fresh orange buttercream frosting. For my tastes the additions of nuts and raisins, traditional as they are, would not be an improvement for this cake, so I left them both out. I made a half recipe for 12 cupcakes, still adding the full 1-1/2 tsp. of fresh orange zest which contributed a distinct fresh orange flavor that I loved. For these 12 cupcakes I used this frosting: 2 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 c. butter, 1 tsp. vanilla. 1 tsp. fresh orange zest and about 2 T. fresh orange juice. The cake has a relatively tight crumb, and is a pretty, delicate yellow. It doesn't scream ORANGE even after doubling the amount of zest so the more intensely flavored frosting was a nice contrast. Four stars rather than five because this orange cake does need the extra oomph doubling the orange zest gave it. Also, because the Williamsburg Butter Frosting directed to accompany it is not the best complement with its relatively large amount of orange liqueur. Fresh orange juice, in my opinion, is a far better alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Hui Min
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I have made this many times already, as a cake as well as cupcakes (makes 24 medium-size). It's a lovely cake - moist, soft and full of orange flavour. You can substitute part of the vanilla extract with orange oil, but the recipe is fine just the way it is. Sometimes I make the Williamsburg frosting as filling for a cake, or as topping for cupcakes. As frosting, it will be rather soft, so you must chill the cake with the frosting for a few hours before you take it out anywhere. And the frosting will melt in hot weather (I live in a tropical country).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Turned out wonderful, especially topped with Orange Buttercream Frosting. I used craisins instead of raisins and almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I think this is considered a somewhat elegant, old fashioned cake. After it's baked and cooled, I break it into pieces and layer it in sherbert glasses with the orange jello-cool whip combo that you make a jello pie with, drizzeled with orange liqueur.....what a show-stopper! Be sure to use cake flour and sift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made cupcakes by reducing the baking time - very yummy with vanilla buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Great recipe for a homemade orange cake- I can't use the raisins or nuts since my family is very picky- the nutrition info is off because I don't know anyone who gets 18 servings out of one 9x13 cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I used this recipe to make orange creamsicle cupcakes. Orange cupcakes with orange buttercream frosting. They were a huge hit. I cut the recipe in half and it made 14 cupcakes. I omitted the raisins and walnuts because I was looking for a simple orange cake. I substituted orange extract for some of the vanilla. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this earlier in the year and I'm thrilled to see I saved the recipe in my box. This is THE recipe my mom used when I was growing up. Decadent, delightful, and delicious. Thanks for submitting this! ...we'll be making it again next week for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Very tasty and amazing texture - well it does have 3 eggs and almost a cup of fat ;-) but that's why its a treat. I did replace the walnuts with pecans and used all butter (no shortening.) The 1T of zest gives a pretty mild flavor, so I think you could safely increase by 50% for a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
a great recipe. luv it. super easy too. at first i was taken a back by the method of this cake, but then, the result- yummy. the only thing that i'll change next time, is the sugar amount. too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States