Willard Family German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Fabulous! This was my first attempt at a German Chocolate cake, I kind of expected it to be a little more complicated but this was easy. I had to use the milk and vinegar substitute for the buttermilk because I forgot to bring my list to the store and of course forgot the buttermilk :( It worked fine. I used butter in both the cake and the frosting since I never have margarine. I also made some chocolate frosting for the sides of the cake, I didn't have enough of the coconut frosting but I think that is because I'm a little heavy handed with frosting. My family was sad when this cake was gone and there was a fight over the last piece ( I won! ) Thanks for the great recipe, its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
GREAT recipe! The cake was moist and delicious and the frosting amazing! I've made many other types of chocolate cakes from scratch but this was my first German Chocolate cake. Rave reviews from all our guests who shared it with us. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Way more work than what it is worth. Also there is a recipe inside the pkg of Baker's German Sweet Chocolate that is almost exactly the same and less tedious. I agree w/ other reviewers who say it is not chocolate enough. The one inside the candy bar's pkg tastes more chocolately, more than likely because they use 1/2 c less flour. They have you melt the chocolate in the butter instead of water (water dilutes, butter enhances). So there is a not the dilution of the water in the cake. Also in the pkg directions you don't have to separate the eggs and beat the egg whites stiff, just add the eggs. Candy bar's recipe tastes better and is less work. (To be honest, this is so close to the candy bar recipe it seems like a lightly modified knock-off.)They make it into cupcakes but just use cake pans instead. The frosting recipe is the same as this one too. I also agree that you have to do the frosting plus 1/2 to barely have enough to do a cake. The candy bar's package gives you more frosting for it does it as 1.5 of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Great Cake! My brother doesn't like cake at all, but he has always loved German Chocolate cake.... so he knows when it's good and he loved this cake and frosting. As did everyone else. It was super light, fluffy and moist (don't overcook it even a little). I made 36 cupcakes and they were amazing. You do need to cook the frosting and stir for 10-12 minutes, but I thickened it too much because as it cooled it got much to thick especially after adding the nuts and coconut flakes. To correct for this just add SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK and a little real milk until it brings it to the consistency you can spread. I would suggest when you are heating the sauce for the frosting you should stop cooking it whenever you notice it no longer falls immediately back into place when you move your spoon through the sauce. This will be close to 9-12 minutes depending on your stove. Remember, as it cools it will get even firmer. Other than my learning curve, this recipe is an ABSOLUTE WIN and I am using it anytime I need German chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Olive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Delicious cake and recipe was easy to follow! I love to bake but am somewhat of a beginner and this recipe was straightforward and easy to follow! The frosting came out great. I know my husband will love it for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great cake. Made it for my husband on our anniversary. I substituted some of the boiling water with some coffee. I would strain the frosting mixture over a colander in case you accidentally cook some of the egg (like I did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
**Edited based on making this again as cupcakes :)...Everyone raved about this cake - I've never made it before and I think it came out great. I wanted my frosting to cover it entirely, so ended up with little bare spots around the edges that I filled in with chocolate frosting ("Creamy Chocolate Frosting" by Tracy on this website). The frosting is only meant to cover the top and in between layers so make more if you want it to be more rich and/or have more full coverage....I've since made this again as cupcakes! I've posted a picture of them. I followed the recipe to a 't'. Did not make any modifications and again received RAVE reviews! People went out of their way to tell me how great they were....To make them into cupcakes I filled the paper cake cups to about 2/3-3/4 full, and baked at 350 for about 18 minutes. You know they are ready when the tops look porous like sponges and the edges get just a little bit brown. Also, use a toothpick :) I was able to make 24 cupcakes out of this recipe, and the coconut frosting was the perfect amount for them. I used my same chocolate frosting to fill in around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
The recipe looks complex but is so worth it! I'm not a very experienced baker so was a bit worried but followed the instructions to the letter and it came out perfect :) Just a note: the picture contains butter icing not in the recipe on the sides. Budget a bit of exra marge, icing sugar and cocoa for that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was the first German chocolate cake I've ever made and the best one I've ever eaten! Thank you for sharing your family's wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States