Willard Family German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made mine with semi-sweet chocolate. Very moist, and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My only complaint is that it's really not a chocolatey cake. Next time I will use at least twice the chocolate, or add some cocoa powder to the mix as well. My husband, who loves GC cake and this was for his birthday, asked me if it was a pumpkin cake, judging by the color of it. The rest of it was great. Good texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
One of the best German Chocolate cakes I've ever eaten; my coworkers all also agreed! Great recipe! Thank you! I used the coconut frosting in between 2 layers and on the very top, then frosted the sides of the cake with a homemade butter and brown sugar frosting. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Ranae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osceola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Aviston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Only thing I could add is I wish it made more frosting and less cake. I just never saw the point in a 3 layer cake. I made only 2 layers and used the rest of the batter for cupcakes for my kids as they do not eat pecans or coconut. Even with just 2 layers I would have liked more icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckpsyc
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Cake came out great. I don't know if it was me, but it could use a little more sugar. Also greasing the pans are a necessity because I lost a layer due to under greasing. Another tip to cool off the frosting is to refrigerate it so its easier to spread! Third time making this and will continue to do so!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Luv it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessKatty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This cake was delicious! A beautiful combination of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was the first German chocolate cake I've ever made and the best one I've ever eaten! Thank you for sharing your family's wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
no time for the cake made the icing and it was perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States