Wild Rice with Cranberries and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have made this several times and my wife really likes it. I typicallly serve with a glazed salmon - tonight it is Blueberry glazed salmon. Substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth and lemon zest for orange zest. Also use a wild rice mix from bulk bins at the market. Can't miss recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
We didn't have brown rice so I used white rice . The cranberries were frozen not dried and I used shallots insread of onoins and orange juice instead of orange zest . It was a disaster and turned out as mush . The duck (mallard) was fanatastic .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
We enjoyed this quite a bit this morning. I served it with fish and think it would go much better with poultry. Might add some pine nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love this recipe. I did all wild rice - instead of halving it - and I chopped my one onion - not 3 as stated. I also skipped the orange zest. I might cut back on the butter in the rice next time - the package said to cook it with a T of butter....but I thought it was a little too buttery. But otherwise delish...and I think I will cut my onions bigger next time as stated in this recipe because they do get pretty small. Thanks for a great recipe! I now officially love wild rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was a great recipe! A very nice combination of sweet and tart that I enjoyed eating for days afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I omitted butter and added 1/2 cup of orange juice, a few dates, 1 green peppers, 1 celery stalk, sundried tomatoes, 2 big cloves of garlic (Mmm)and I steamed these with the onions and whatever the recipe says.....it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Family did not enjoy this...wasn't very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was an all right dish. I don't think I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made this dish this morning for a ladies lunch. I needed a quick side and had all ingredients on hand. I followed the directions exactly, but wasn't too pleased with the results. I actually didn't even serve it and I threw it out. I think the onions were just overwhelming or something. The ingredients didn't really complement each other. Not a success for me, though other reviewers seemed to have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
consider adding red seedless grapes, chopped dates, green onions, and pine nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States