Wild Rice with Cranberries and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have made this several times and my wife really likes it. I typicallly serve with a glazed salmon - tonight it is Blueberry glazed salmon. Substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth and lemon zest for orange zest. Also use a wild rice mix from bulk bins at the market. Can't miss recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
We didn't have brown rice so I used white rice . The cranberries were frozen not dried and I used shallots insread of onoins and orange juice instead of orange zest . It was a disaster and turned out as mush . The duck (mallard) was fanatastic .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
We enjoyed this quite a bit this morning. I served it with fish and think it would go much better with poultry. Might add some pine nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love this recipe. I did all wild rice - instead of halving it - and I chopped my one onion - not 3 as stated. I also skipped the orange zest. I might cut back on the butter in the rice next time - the package said to cook it with a T of butter....but I thought it was a little too buttery. But otherwise delish...and I think I will cut my onions bigger next time as stated in this recipe because they do get pretty small. Thanks for a great recipe! I now officially love wild rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was a great recipe! A very nice combination of sweet and tart that I enjoyed eating for days afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I omitted butter and added 1/2 cup of orange juice, a few dates, 1 green peppers, 1 celery stalk, sundried tomatoes, 2 big cloves of garlic (Mmm)and I steamed these with the onions and whatever the recipe says.....it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Family did not enjoy this...wasn't very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was an all right dish. I don't think I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made this dish this morning for a ladies lunch. I needed a quick side and had all ingredients on hand. I followed the directions exactly, but wasn't too pleased with the results. I actually didn't even serve it and I threw it out. I think the onions were just overwhelming or something. The ingredients didn't really complement each other. Not a success for me, though other reviewers seemed to have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
consider adding red seedless grapes, chopped dates, green onions, and pine nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States