Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This one I will make again and again. The only thing I will do different the next time is to add half a layer of cheese between the meat and rice mixture in the casserole dish. Good tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I took the advice of several folks and added extra soy sauce (upped to 3 tbsp.) so the recipe didn't get too dry, however, I found that the fresh mushrooms I used probably would have compensated enough and it was a bit "juicy". I didn't mind, as the extra flavor from the soy sauce was wonderful. I upped the seasoning (curry) to 2 tsp. but that really was a bit too much. The curry overpowered many of the other flavors. I will use 1 1/2 tsp next time and that should be just right. Also, I used sharp cheddar (my preference in cheese). I found that the cheese really brought the flavors together and was necessary in each bite - it really made teh flavors "pop". I did add some to the mixture, but not nearly enough. I will likely use the 2 c. called for in the mixture next time and only a light sprinkle on the top of a little extra (maybe 1 c., if that much). I will cook the wild rice for an hour on the stovetop next time, as mine was a little chewy, even after baking (the wild rice I use - directions say cook for 1 hour). Over all, this is a very filling meal - good comfort food for fall/winter. Will definitely make again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Wonderful. I layered the cheese as someone suggested; used some peas instead of water chestnuts (did have any on hand). Will make this again--tomorrow night with the water chestnuts. This is one of those recipes you can 'tweak' anyway you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Really good. I was a little apprehensive about the cheddar-curry combo but it worked really well. Other than adding a 1/2 tsp corriander and I used turkey instead of beef, I followed the recipe exactly. It did leave little buttery pools on the plates. A whole stick of butter is really a lot but I think it was an imperative part of the flavor. Perhaps the fat/flavor could come from something a bit more solid... maybe mayo. I may give that a try. But I would make this again as is. ADDENDUM: Since this review I have made this several times. My fourteen-month-old LOVES this!! We can't keep her bowl full!! My parents and my in-laws (completely opposite tastes) all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Absolutely excellent!! Every time I make it, it disapears. You could add bacon if wanted. Heck, who doesn't like bacon. Be creative. The curry powder is a must though. It really give a unique flavor, so don't ever thing of leaving that out. It would not be the same. Donna-Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
YUMMY! We just loved this and we gobbled up all the leftovers - in fact, I'm surprised there weren't any fights! I did make this w/ ground turkey instead of ground beef, fresh mushrooms and I added a bit extra spice and soy. Awesome - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I followed this recipe with only a few minor alterations: fresh mushrooms and, since I didn't have water chestnuts, I threw in a cup of corn. It was mildly flavoured. Next time I would use a bit less butter. I will make this again as even my husband, who only likes white rice, went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was skeptical of the curry and cheese combination, as many other reviewers mentioned. But they insisted that it was great and should be tried. I really should have gone with my gut on this one--one bite of this was one bite too much. I do like the idea of a casserole that combines beef with wild rice and brown rice, but the flavoring was way off. You gotta think there's a reason that curries topped with cheddar cheese have not taken off in fusion restaurants across the nation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I could not bring myself to put cheese on this... it just doesn't seem right. Soy sauce with cheddar and curry?! A whole stick of butter? What is going on in this recipe? Too many odd flavors, rice doesn't get fully cooked with only 3 cups broth. Was also too greasy (even with halving the butter called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a good weeknight meal; it's so quick and easy to prepare. I used leftover cooked wild rice and it worked fine. I don't care for curry, so didn't use it. I didn't have mushrooms so used peas instead; also added minced fresh garlic and a touch of ground ginger and a can of sliced bamboo shoots. I'm glad I did as others suggested and added a layer of cheese in the middle of the beef mixture and used a few more Tablespoons of soy. Thanks for a quick and easy base recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States