Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I was reading the past comments and I have incorporated on what the comments have said. I used 2 cans of the Chicken Both and the rice used (I cannot remember what I use but I will come back to this.) I brown the turkey meat with the Onions. (I skipped a step with the butter) When it was time added fresh mushrooms, 1 can of Peas, 2 cups frozen Corn, Water Chestnuts (per recipe). My husband and In-Laws LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRZQU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I used a bag of 90 second brown and wild rice to save myself a ton of time, and skipped the water chestnuts since we don't like them. I layered the beef and cheese, as per other reviewer's suggestions. This was easy but a bit bland. I think I may try adding some diced tomatoes to the beef mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I really liked this recipe but didn't love it. It did come out a little dry. My family isn't big on water chesnuts or mushrooms so I omited these and added in corn. Overall it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I took the advice of several folks and added extra soy sauce (upped to 3 tbsp.) so the recipe didn't get too dry, however, I found that the fresh mushrooms I used probably would have compensated enough and it was a bit "juicy". I didn't mind, as the extra flavor from the soy sauce was wonderful. I upped the seasoning (curry) to 2 tsp. but that really was a bit too much. The curry overpowered many of the other flavors. I will use 1 1/2 tsp next time and that should be just right. Also, I used sharp cheddar (my preference in cheese). I found that the cheese really brought the flavors together and was necessary in each bite - it really made teh flavors "pop". I did add some to the mixture, but not nearly enough. I will likely use the 2 c. called for in the mixture next time and only a light sprinkle on the top of a little extra (maybe 1 c., if that much). I will cook the wild rice for an hour on the stovetop next time, as mine was a little chewy, even after baking (the wild rice I use - directions say cook for 1 hour). Over all, this is a very filling meal - good comfort food for fall/winter. Will definitely make again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
We were not a fan of this one. It came out on the dry side and we didn't care for the cheese sprinkled over the top of the rice. This was also rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This had a really good flavor, but came out a bit dry. Next time, I'll add a can of cream of mushroom soup or mushroom gravy to it and I think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This was very good. I used sharp cheddar cheese which gave it a nice tang. Next time I will mix some of the cheese into the rice/meat mixture for a more even flavor. We added a bit of hot sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liberty, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I made this recipe for a potluck and everyone loved it! I added a little more soy sauce. Great recipe, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Wonderful. I layered the cheese as someone suggested; used some peas instead of water chestnuts (did have any on hand). Will make this again--tomorrow night with the water chestnuts. This is one of those recipes you can 'tweak' anyway you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Really good. I was a little apprehensive about the cheddar-curry combo but it worked really well. Other than adding a 1/2 tsp corriander and I used turkey instead of beef, I followed the recipe exactly. It did leave little buttery pools on the plates. A whole stick of butter is really a lot but I think it was an imperative part of the flavor. Perhaps the fat/flavor could come from something a bit more solid... maybe mayo. I may give that a try. But I would make this again as is. ADDENDUM: Since this review I have made this several times. My fourteen-month-old LOVES this!! We can't keep her bowl full!! My parents and my in-laws (completely opposite tastes) all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States