Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is a good filling recipe but it is just a bit dry. I used an extra cup of chicken broth for the rice and added a can of cream of celery soup and a can of water. That helped the dryness but the ingredients still needed something to tie them all together. I solved the problem temporarily with ketchup, something my neice strongly approves of:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
A very good, flavorfull recipe. I have made it as is which is fabulous. I have also substituted different meats and rices depending upon what I had and they have turned out good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made this last night. Did not have waterchestnuts or mushrooms so added cream of mushroom soup and corn. It was a huge hit with my kids (and me!). The curry powder and soy sauce are an excellent combination and tastes even better the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Absolutely excellent!! Every time I make it, it disapears. You could add bacon if wanted. Heck, who doesn't like bacon. Be creative. The curry powder is a must though. It really give a unique flavor, so don't ever thing of leaving that out. It would not be the same. Donna-Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe. My 5 and 7 year olds asked for 2nd and 3rd helpings. I only changed a few things. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and I used a can of corn instead of water chestnuts. I will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was definitely too dry. I had to add 1/2 c. RF mayo and 1/2 c. RF sour cream before baking it. I loved the flavor with the curry though, and I will make it again with the above modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is a very good casserole with an unusual combination of flavors that ended up smelling and tasting wonderful. We made a few changes (who doesn't on Allrecipes?). We used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I don't like water chestnuts, so we added corn, as someone else mentioned. We cut way back on the cheese, only one cup. I only used one tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of olive oil, way too much butter originally. Gotta watch those fat calories.... In the end I really liked it, and I never liked wild rice before. My husband liked it also. My 6 year old liked it before my 9 year old made her negative opinion known. So a pretty good winner overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This one is a keeper! I have eight VERY picky kids and every one of them cleaned their plates-a recipe with curry no less! I too used the sharp cheddar cheese but other than that stayed true to the recipe. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a good weeknight meal; it's so quick and easy to prepare. I used leftover cooked wild rice and it worked fine. I don't care for curry, so didn't use it. I didn't have mushrooms so used peas instead; also added minced fresh garlic and a touch of ground ginger and a can of sliced bamboo shoots. I'm glad I did as others suggested and added a layer of cheese in the middle of the beef mixture and used a few more Tablespoons of soy. Thanks for a quick and easy base recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipes was so easy but I didn't have a lot of time so I used some shortcuts and ingredients on hand. I used minute brown rice and cooked with the bay leaves and chicken broth per the box instructions. I used olive oil to cook the onions instead of butter and added garlic and onion powder when cooking the meat. Instead of waterchestnuts and mushrooms I threw in some frozen bell peppers and mixed veggies. Also folded the cheese into the entire mixture reserving a small amount to sprinkle on top. Make sure and taste the mixture before putting it in the oven so you can add spices to your taste. I added a lot more curry and some cayene for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States