Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
A very good, flavorfull recipe. I have made it as is which is fabulous. I have also substituted different meats and rices depending upon what I had and they have turned out good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made this last night. Did not have waterchestnuts or mushrooms so added cream of mushroom soup and corn. It was a huge hit with my kids (and me!). The curry powder and soy sauce are an excellent combination and tastes even better the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Absolutely excellent!! Every time I make it, it disapears. You could add bacon if wanted. Heck, who doesn't like bacon. Be creative. The curry powder is a must though. It really give a unique flavor, so don't ever thing of leaving that out. It would not be the same. Donna-Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe. My 5 and 7 year olds asked for 2nd and 3rd helpings. I only changed a few things. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and I used a can of corn instead of water chestnuts. I will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was definitely too dry. I had to add 1/2 c. RF mayo and 1/2 c. RF sour cream before baking it. I loved the flavor with the curry though, and I will make it again with the above modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is a very good casserole with an unusual combination of flavors that ended up smelling and tasting wonderful. We made a few changes (who doesn't on Allrecipes?). We used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I don't like water chestnuts, so we added corn, as someone else mentioned. We cut way back on the cheese, only one cup. I only used one tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of olive oil, way too much butter originally. Gotta watch those fat calories.... In the end I really liked it, and I never liked wild rice before. My husband liked it also. My 6 year old liked it before my 9 year old made her negative opinion known. So a pretty good winner overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This one is a keeper! I have eight VERY picky kids and every one of them cleaned their plates-a recipe with curry no less! I too used the sharp cheddar cheese but other than that stayed true to the recipe. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a good weeknight meal; it's so quick and easy to prepare. I used leftover cooked wild rice and it worked fine. I don't care for curry, so didn't use it. I didn't have mushrooms so used peas instead; also added minced fresh garlic and a touch of ground ginger and a can of sliced bamboo shoots. I'm glad I did as others suggested and added a layer of cheese in the middle of the beef mixture and used a few more Tablespoons of soy. Thanks for a quick and easy base recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipes was so easy but I didn't have a lot of time so I used some shortcuts and ingredients on hand. I used minute brown rice and cooked with the bay leaves and chicken broth per the box instructions. I used olive oil to cook the onions instead of butter and added garlic and onion powder when cooking the meat. Instead of waterchestnuts and mushrooms I threw in some frozen bell peppers and mixed veggies. Also folded the cheese into the entire mixture reserving a small amount to sprinkle on top. Make sure and taste the mixture before putting it in the oven so you can add spices to your taste. I added a lot more curry and some cayene for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I was reading the past comments and I have incorporated on what the comments have said. I used 2 cans of the Chicken Both and the rice used (I cannot remember what I use but I will come back to this.) I brown the turkey meat with the Onions. (I skipped a step with the butter) When it was time added fresh mushrooms, 1 can of Peas, 2 cups frozen Corn, Water Chestnuts (per recipe). My husband and In-Laws LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRZQU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States