Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
thought it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Made this for the first time last night and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Turned out fabulous and all loved it. Had to change up a bit due to time schedule. Did not boil the rices, etc- The night before I mixed the rices and broth together, browned the onion, celery and beef and mixed the whole thing together with seasonings also mixed in the 2 cups cheddar cheese instead of putting on top. Put in baking dish, covered with aluminum foil and into the refrigerator. Cooked it the following morning for 2 hrs. at 350, then put 1 cup cheddar cheese on top to melt when done. - turned out great. Recipe changes: used celery instead of mushroom and w. chestnuts; used 2 Tablespoon of soy sauce; and 1/2 tsp curry powder - based on other's reviews. Thanks for the ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This recipe smelled very good as it was cooking and didn't taste very bad at all. Thank you for letting me copy it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I could not bring myself to put cheese on this... it just doesn't seem right. Soy sauce with cheddar and curry?! A whole stick of butter? What is going on in this recipe? Too many odd flavors, rice doesn't get fully cooked with only 3 cups broth. Was also too greasy (even with halving the butter called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was just okay. It didn't have a whole lot of taste to me;just sort of ordinary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Trying to eat healthy, so no way was I going to add a whole stick of butter. Plus you get saturated fat from the beef, Plus you get saturated fat from the cheese. Why would I even make this LOL? I used 2 TBS of butter and a smidge of olive oil. Added green and red bell peppers with the onion, and frozen corn for color, flavor and nutrients. I only had 1/2 cup of wild rice, so I increased the brown to make up for it. Worked fine. Used a lean hamburger (93%). Other reviewers complained of dryness, but I did not have that problem at all. I found it very rich, in fact next time I won't use any butter and I'll drain the meat. My mouth still feels greasy. My rice was completely tender before mixing with the beef and baking, so maybe that also is what makes a difference in dryness? I also followed the suggestion of adding some of the cheese in a layer in the middle. Only 3 stars because the seasonings were way too mild. I had to add quite a bit more soy (actually I used low sodium tamari) and curry and added black pepper. Garlic would be good too but I was having a garlicky side dish of broccoli rabe. All in all I am happy with it after my tweaking and keeping this one. This makes a huge amount, I hope it freezes okay! EDIT: I lowered to two stars because I did not care for it the next day. Will not be keeping this one after all. Sorry, but thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
My husband is a picky eater and he loved this dish. I added cheese in between layers of beef and rice mixture. Next time I will add more soy sauce and curry as others suggested. The flavors were a little too subtle for me. I will keep this one in my box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I thought this dish was OK, my family did not care for it at all. Needed more flavor and probably a can of cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is a good filling recipe but it is just a bit dry. I used an extra cup of chicken broth for the rice and added a can of cream of celery soup and a can of water. That helped the dryness but the ingredients still needed something to tie them all together. I solved the problem temporarily with ketchup, something my neice strongly approves of:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States