Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Make this all the time but modify it to fit our families tastes; celery, more soy and sauteed fresh mushrooms. Something to note, all recipes that involve curry should be sauteed together with the onion to bring out the flavor. Lastly, I add cheese in the casserole and then top the casserole with cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this with a couple of substitutions. Wild rice is so expensive and I already had two boxes of the Uncle Ben's Long-grain and Wild Rice, so I used them. Although I used both boxes of rice! I used only one of the seasoning packets. This shortens the time needed, as the rice cooks in about the same time it takes to sauté the onion and brown the beef. Wifey and I both liked it enough to go back for seconds, but agreed that it could stand a few tweaks. Next time, I will sub 2 Tbs teriyaki for the soy sauce and add a couple of ribs of celery diced. The jury is still out on whether it could benefit from 2 cloves of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delish! I doubled the curry, added 1tsp cumin, 1/2tsp ginger, 1/2tsp blk pepper & 1/4tsp red pepper flakes. This made the meal very pungent. Next time I plan to add celery flakes or dried celery. My husband loved it so much he went back for 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is a very good recipe with a few minor adjustments. Do not add the butter unless you like very greasy food. If you do use the butter to sautee the onions, make sure you drain the fat from the ground beef and onion mixture completly. Otherwise, you will have a very greasy hotdish. Also, I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added extra soy sauce and curry powder. I added 4 tbsp. of soy sauce and 1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons of curry powder. I also took the recommendation of adding a layer of cheese in the middle. As weird as some of these ingredients sound together (curry, soy sauce, chedder cheese) it really is a tasty recipe. My husband can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
We weren't expecting this to be anything special, but we were pleasantly surprised! My husband and I both enjoyed this and it was very simple and tasty. We substituted 8 oz of fresh whole mushrooms cubed (not chopped) instead of the water chestnuts and canned mushrooms and cooked them with the ground beef. The cheese is instrumental - don't leave it out. My husband doesn't like curry normally, but he really liked this casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Fantasic recipe! Full of flavor and healthy! I usually add a teaspoon more of curry powder, omit the water chestnuts (don't keep on hand) and less cheese. I cook both my rices together in a rice cooker with the broth and bay leaves. Makes easy clean up. Try this, you'll love the flavor with the curry and soy together, great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Good flavor combination. Like others have noted, the curry and cheese seemed a little odd at first read, especially with soy sauce, but it works. I followed the ingrdients pretty closely, except that I added garlic (ALWAYS!) and used frozen peas instead of the water chestnuts (didn't have any on hand). But instead of creating a third pot/pan to clean, I used a deep skillet for the ground beef, added the rice in there and mixed with about 1/3 the cheese, then sprinkled the rest of the cheese over the top and let it simmer for about 20 minutes on the stove. I didn't get the browning effect, but the mixture was nice and bubbly. And really, to those who cried "bland" at this... maybe you should follow standard cooking practice and tatse as you go. One person's bland is someone else's spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Great dinner! I added a can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was skeptical of the curry and cheese combination, as many other reviewers mentioned. But they insisted that it was great and should be tried. I really should have gone with my gut on this one--one bite of this was one bite too much. I do like the idea of a casserole that combines beef with wild rice and brown rice, but the flavoring was way off. You gotta think there's a reason that curries topped with cheddar cheese have not taken off in fusion restaurants across the nation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I followed the directions pretty closely. I just used 2 cups of a wild rice blend (that had brown rice in it), fresh mushrooms, and no water chesnuts. All the flavors blend well together, it fills you up, and it makes a big batch! Will be making this one again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States