Wild Rice and Asparagus Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Excellent quick dish. Like another reviewer, I too made my own hoisin sauce - about 1/2 cup and it was just the right amount of sauce. Didn't add anything else as it contained peanut butter, sesame oil and soy sauce and honey which gave plenty of sweet, salty sauce. Added a can of baby corn but could have used peppers, brocc, carrots... next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This dish was great. My family truly enjoyed it .. instead of peanut oil I used canola oil because it is what I had on hand .. doubled the recipe .. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Made exactly as written. This dish is bland. boring and barely edible. My son and I both threw it out after a few bites. One of the very few times I have been let down by the ratings on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used broccoli instead of asparagus because it's what i had on hand. the steps are great and the finished product is beautiful and almost perfect... but WAY too sweet for me... and I love sweet!! I've made it a couple of times now and plan to omit the brown sugar completely in the future. Very easy to make. Works well with vegetables only as well, if you don't have or want chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was DELICIOUS. A tad sweet, so next time I will decrease the brown sugar to maybe 1/2 T instead of a whole but overall it was very tasty. I'm rating 4 stars because of the sweetness, and because I added extra veggies which made it MUCH tastier. I think as is, the recipe needs more to it to earn 5. If you add other veggies and cut down the sugar, easily 5 stars. I will use this sauce for other stir fry recipes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My intention was to make the recipe exactly as is, but it didn't turn out that way. I used the recipe as a guide and made a lot of changes. I added a red pepper, water chestnuts, and baby corn. The grocery didn't have hiosin sauce so I just added just brown sugar, pepper and soy sauce (nearly double what the recipe called for). When the chicken was near done I added cayenne pepper for some spiciness. Turned out fabulous! Next time I think I am going to add peanuts for a bit of crunch, but the right vegetables make the dish stand out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Picklicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Really quick, easy, and tasty. A great alternative to run-of-the-mill stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was really good. I used 2 breasts and 2 thighs and 1 pound of asparagus with about a tablespoon of minced garlic. I served it over leftover white rice, and it went over well with my husband and two teenagers. I tripled the hoisin sauce and brown sugar to have enough sauce for added chicken/asparagus. I also used olive oil for sauteeing, and added 1 teaspoon smooth peanut butter to sauce to make up for not using peanut oil. Will definitely make this again, maybe experimenting with beef and/or another vegetable. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Very simple and great tasting dish. I added red bell pepper and green onions. Would be an easy dish to customize any way you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was delicious! I added broccoli and red bell pepper to it, so had to double the sauce. I also used frozen asparagus (which I defrosted) and used less peanut oil. We served it with the wild rice as written and it was good and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States