Wild Rice Stuffing for Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Yuck! Don't know what went wrong - I followed the recipe exactly. The spices were overwhelming and the wild rice tasted funny. I'm from Minnesota and love wild rice, so not sure why this was - can it go bad??? In any case, not a single one of my guests ate more than a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Nice texture with the wild rice. I needed to cook the rice longer than was listed. I made homemade croutons, then decided to double it, so I made up the difference with plain ole dry bread chunks. I used a mixture of homemade broth (frozen from last year) and boullion. There was a tremendous amount of butter, and it was a bit oily, so next time I'll cut that in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Raves all 'round. Was told this was the best stuffing all of my guests had ever had. Only change was to add some red bell pepper in with the green for color. Thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving table. I doubled the recipe, but reduced the amount of bouillon overall. I used celery, onion, asparagus and mushrooms. I also omitted the turkey seasoning and found that the taste was just fine for me, but I don't like a lot of seasoning so that would be up to personal preference. I will say that my husband salts everything and he loved this dish so...I guess it was ok. I am not the best cook, but I do follow directions well and this turned out great! We will be eating this often with or without turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Great flavor! If you are a fan of wild rice, you should definitely try it. This recipe worked perfectly for my 12.9 lb turkey. I omitted the green peppers (because I didn't have any) and next time I may add some more croutons and broth for a more "bready" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This didn't taste that great. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I added 12 ounces of seasoned sausage, 3/4 cup dried cranberries, 1 onion, and 1 apple peeled and chopped and it was really well liked by everyone. You could add any or all of the above ingredients and it would improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Templeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lydia
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was hands down the best stuffing I have ever had. I love wild rice so maybe that is why. My only suggestion would be to cook the wild rice until it busts through the black skin. I cooked 25 minutes but it was a bit too chewy, but at the same time, sooo very tasty. I think the seasoned crutons is very mucgh a secret to incredible stuffing. I will use this recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Very tasty recipe! I actually used it as a side dish stuffing for a chicken breast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
My family loves this recipe. This is now the only stuffing my family wants during the holidays. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States