Wild Rice Stuffed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Once modified, I loved this recipe. I'm a vegetarian personal chef and have cooked it for all my clients... plus for my big Thanksgiving gathering. Here are my modifications: sometimes I use celery, but fennel as a replacement also works nicely. I also use 1 peeled chopped apple and about 3 ounces of rehydrated porcini mushrooms. I use the 1 1/2 cups of porcini soaking water to moisten the sauteed vegetables toward the end of cooking (in place of the recipe's stock). Finally, I use at least 3 tablespoons of fresh, finely chopped herbs such as rosemary, oregano and thyme. If you don't have them fresh, definitely use dried. The porcini mushrooms and the fresh herbs really bring this dish to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MGEE73
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Overall, this was a delicious dish and well received by guests. Did make a few changes - used 1/2 red onion (chopped) since I was adding other ingredients; left out cranberries. Followed others' suggestions - used 1/4 fennel bulb (instead of celery) and added: dried oregano, 3 oz. cremini mushroom, 1 chopped/peeled apple. Sauteed the mushrooms at the same time as the fennel (celery) and onions. Added oregano to the rice mix and the apple with the parsley. Once the baked squash was out of the oven, sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese over the warm rice mixture. Due to limited oven space, I had to bake the squash in batches. Tightly covered foil is critical for steaming - I was a bit careless the 2nd go around and the squash didn't cook all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I thought this recipe was deliciious! I changed it up a bit though. I used vegetable broth, being a vegetarian. I also used walnuts and apples. It made the meal more meaty and filling. I also didn't use any cranberies just because I didn't have any, but they would have added a nice zip:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Follow the recipe! The rice can be made ahead of time and is even good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
YUM! I added an apple and rosemary as suggested by a couple users. This is a keeper for sure. The rice filling on its own is delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great taste, gourmet presentation! Only thing to add is that this is definitely not a side dish for me. I got two squash and it was enough for 4 and almost all of us had leftovers for the next day. Great dish for autumn, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent as a main dish or a side dish. The only thing it that I would let the squash roast before stuffing with the rice to avoid overly crunchy rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very good basic recipe, but even better with addition of 1/2 teaspoon of oregano with the rice and mix. Add 3 oz of cremini mushrooms along with the cranberries. Remove the rice mixture from heat after adding the fresh parsley and then add 1 medium apple, chopped (peeled or unpeeled according to your preference). As you can see I incorporated several of the recommended additions and the result was delicious and the presentation was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was good, I used apple since I can't have cranberries. Am going to make again without the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is the BEST stuffed squash recipe in my opinion. I always add a chub of ground pork sausage to mine as well. The flavor combo is fantastic! Also, adding the sausage allows you to have more filling, which means you can make more stuffed squash...or just eat the leftover filling on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyldfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States