Wild Rice Stuffed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I thought this recipe was deliciious! I changed it up a bit though. I used vegetable broth, being a vegetarian. I also used walnuts and apples. It made the meal more meaty and filling. I also didn't use any cranberies just because I didn't have any, but they would have added a nice zip:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
A very nice and flexible recipe. I didn't have prunes so I used chopped dates. Also added a handful of golden raisins. Didn't have reg dried cranberries so I used sweetened. Left out the pecans altogether but did decide later that nuts (pecan or walnut) would give it a nice bite. Make sure you get your wild rice from White Earth Land Recovery Project. Can see this working with butternut squash and others as well. A really nice Autumn dish - would be especially nice for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Once modified, I loved this recipe. I'm a vegetarian personal chef and have cooked it for all my clients... plus for my big Thanksgiving gathering. Here are my modifications: sometimes I use celery, but fennel as a replacement also works nicely. I also use 1 peeled chopped apple and about 3 ounces of rehydrated porcini mushrooms. I use the 1 1/2 cups of porcini soaking water to moisten the sauteed vegetables toward the end of cooking (in place of the recipe's stock). Finally, I use at least 3 tablespoons of fresh, finely chopped herbs such as rosemary, oregano and thyme. If you don't have them fresh, definitely use dried. The porcini mushrooms and the fresh herbs really bring this dish to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was good, I used apple since I can't have cranberries. Am going to make again without the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MGEE73
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Overall, this was a delicious dish and well received by guests. Did make a few changes - used 1/2 red onion (chopped) since I was adding other ingredients; left out cranberries. Followed others' suggestions - used 1/4 fennel bulb (instead of celery) and added: dried oregano, 3 oz. cremini mushroom, 1 chopped/peeled apple. Sauteed the mushrooms at the same time as the fennel (celery) and onions. Added oregano to the rice mix and the apple with the parsley. Once the baked squash was out of the oven, sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese over the warm rice mixture. Due to limited oven space, I had to bake the squash in batches. Tightly covered foil is critical for steaming - I was a bit careless the 2nd go around and the squash didn't cook all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I thought it was good, but my husband thought it was great! Went well with the roasted lemon garlic chicken we had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this with Butternut Squash, and made it a filling vegetarian dish by using 1 bag boca crumbles, WHITE rice, and some onion, celery, mushroom, and a mix of dried cranberries and raisins, as well as some chopped pecans. My baby and my 5 and 8 year old and husband all like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe was so delicious! I made a few replacements: I used vegetable broth, walnuts instead of pecans, and quinoa instead of rice. It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Follow the recipe! The rice can be made ahead of time and is even good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very good basic recipe, but even better with addition of 1/2 teaspoon of oregano with the rice and mix. Add 3 oz of cremini mushrooms along with the cranberries. Remove the rice mixture from heat after adding the fresh parsley and then add 1 medium apple, chopped (peeled or unpeeled according to your preference). As you can see I incorporated several of the recommended additions and the result was delicious and the presentation was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States