Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I ignored the order of the instructions as indicated in other reviews which was helpful. I made the rice and stuffing individually using broth instead of water. I sauteed shallots, garlic, green apples, celery and mushrooms in olive oil and then combined this mixture with dried cranberries, pecans, the rice and stuffing. I topped the stuffed squash with French's onions and grated parmesan which browned nicely. This recipe was flavorful, filling and tastes wonderfully of Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was fantastic. The only problem was that the recipe is listed in a bad order, I'm going to make it in the exact opposite order next time. It was also very good with little cubes of chicken mixed in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious! Im a vegetarian, and I had this as my main course for Thanksgiving. It was amazing. I did tweak it a bit by adding poultry seasoning instead of the fresh sage, and I added dried cranberries instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very good - the directions are definitely backwards - 1) start the rice first (I added celery and carrot), 2) then do the stuffing (on the stove top), 3) then bake the squash. I think the squash needed a salt rub before baking - it was pretty bland. My kids weren't big fans of the squash, so next time I will not stuff them, but cut them into cubes and toss them in with the stuffing and rice before baking. I ended up making only 2 squash, and did the full stuffing/rice recipe, and the extra stuffing filled up a pie pan nicely, and gave the kids a better stuffing to squash ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Stuffing was alittle dry might try adding some cheese to give it some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very nice fall meal. I added diced cooked chicken in the mixture and drizzled extra stock on top to keep it from getting too dry. I will sprinkle pecans on top next time to add a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not a hit, but worth the try, we prefer the sweeter versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
If you are veg, try and give this dish moisture by adding sliced apple. Ooooh so yum. I am not veg, but I add apple suasage slices to this. Again for the meat eaters out there, YUMMY. The sausage and apple go nicely with the wild rice. A little brown sugar and "REAL" butter are the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I improvised some, but this was a fantastic meal! I had to cook the squash about 10 min longer than the recipe indicated in both places. I don't care for mushrooms, I didn't have any sage, and I only had chicken stock, so those were all left out/subsituted. I used an Uncle Ben's wild rice mix (one small box) since there weren't any bags of it in my neighborhood store, but it was great anyway! As another reviewer suggessted, I added dried cranberries, which was absolutely perfect. Not to mention being tasty, it is healthy and filling. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this vegetarian entree for Thanksgiving. Me and my husband loved it so much that I made it for Christmas. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States