Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Stuffing was alittle dry might try adding some cheese to give it some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was fantastic. The only problem was that the recipe is listed in a bad order, I'm going to make it in the exact opposite order next time. It was also very good with little cubes of chicken mixed in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very nice fall meal. I added diced cooked chicken in the mixture and drizzled extra stock on top to keep it from getting too dry. I will sprinkle pecans on top next time to add a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Seemed like a lot of prep work for what you get in the end, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This recipe tasted pretty good ,I used leftover stuffing from thanksgiving and added sausage. I must say though the stuffing dried out during the cooking maybe needs to be covered in tin foil also it took much longer for the squash to be done i would preheat longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious! Im a vegetarian, and I had this as my main course for Thanksgiving. It was amazing. I did tweak it a bit by adding poultry seasoning instead of the fresh sage, and I added dried cranberries instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
It looks very pretty, but disappointing in the actual delivery. It needs a good sauce or something on it to make it worth the effort of it. Would probably not make again unless I had acorn squash I had to use up. Changes I made because I used what was on hand: Added celery, carrots, zucchini and yellow squash, salt, pepper and poultry seasoning Sub white rice, water (no stock on hand), left over pumpernickel bread (instead of stuffing) I agree with others - needs to be cooked longer and would do in reverse order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I added vegetarian sausage to this dish to make is a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I ignored the order of the instructions as indicated in other reviews which was helpful. I made the rice and stuffing individually using broth instead of water. I sauteed shallots, garlic, green apples, celery and mushrooms in olive oil and then combined this mixture with dried cranberries, pecans, the rice and stuffing. I topped the stuffed squash with French's onions and grated parmesan which browned nicely. This recipe was flavorful, filling and tastes wonderfully of Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My husband LOVED this!!! The stuffing was amazing. I bought all ingredients from Trader Joes. Now the stuffing is the one I go to for Thanksgiving! Its delicious on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States