Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not a hit, but worth the try, we prefer the sweeter versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a really great idea, but they would taste much better with homemade stuffing... it lacked flavor with the box. Also, this recipe made more than enough stuffing for the squash... I froze a whole tupperware full of the stuffing that was left over . We really love stuffing and squash both; it just didn't work with store bought box stuff. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Great dish! I made this dish for my vegan mom and she really liked it. I added dried cranberries, which turned the dish a little too sweet than I would've liked, but overall I got positive reviews. I think I overcooked the rice and stuffing mix because the texture turned out to be close to that of mashed potatoes. Also, you don't have to use the packaged stuffing. If you make your own stuffing, you can use that instead, because it's difficult to find packaged stuffing that is vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Nice flavor, but a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My husband LOVED this!!! The stuffing was amazing. I bought all ingredients from Trader Joes. Now the stuffing is the one I go to for Thanksgiving! Its delicious on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I ignored the order of the instructions as indicated in other reviews which was helpful. I made the rice and stuffing individually using broth instead of water. I sauteed shallots, garlic, green apples, celery and mushrooms in olive oil and then combined this mixture with dried cranberries, pecans, the rice and stuffing. I topped the stuffed squash with French's onions and grated parmesan which browned nicely. This recipe was flavorful, filling and tastes wonderfully of Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I added vegetarian sausage to this dish to make is a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
It looks very pretty, but disappointing in the actual delivery. It needs a good sauce or something on it to make it worth the effort of it. Would probably not make again unless I had acorn squash I had to use up. Changes I made because I used what was on hand: Added celery, carrots, zucchini and yellow squash, salt, pepper and poultry seasoning Sub white rice, water (no stock on hand), left over pumpernickel bread (instead of stuffing) I agree with others - needs to be cooked longer and would do in reverse order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious! Im a vegetarian, and I had this as my main course for Thanksgiving. It was amazing. I did tweak it a bit by adding poultry seasoning instead of the fresh sage, and I added dried cranberries instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This recipe tasted pretty good ,I used leftover stuffing from thanksgiving and added sausage. I must say though the stuffing dried out during the cooking maybe needs to be covered in tin foil also it took much longer for the squash to be done i would preheat longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States