Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made this dish several times with and with out meat. I use bulk sausage. It always is a hit in my family. Never has turned out dry and others have stated. Thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robtandlinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Dry, add something like apples for moisture. Also, cooking time for squash needs to be increased and cook stuffing first. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I improvised some, but this was a fantastic meal! I had to cook the squash about 10 min longer than the recipe indicated in both places. I don't care for mushrooms, I didn't have any sage, and I only had chicken stock, so those were all left out/subsituted. I used an Uncle Ben's wild rice mix (one small box) since there weren't any bags of it in my neighborhood store, but it was great anyway! As another reviewer suggessted, I added dried cranberries, which was absolutely perfect. Not to mention being tasty, it is healthy and filling. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
If you are veg, try and give this dish moisture by adding sliced apple. Ooooh so yum. I am not veg, but I add apple suasage slices to this. Again for the meat eaters out there, YUMMY. The sausage and apple go nicely with the wild rice. A little brown sugar and "REAL" butter are the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
LOVE this recipe!! I make it ALL the time and still continue to love it. It is so easy to change up too. I like to use quinoa and cut up chunks of butternut squash in it instead of acorn squash. It's a go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
It is delicious! Easy to cook, looks great on the table. My guests were impressed! A perfect vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this vegetarian entree for Thanksgiving. Me and my husband loved it so much that I made it for Christmas. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Honestly I completely did my own thing; I give it a 5 star rating because of the concept of stuffing the squash. I’ve made two different stuffings for these and they both came out great. I love using leftovers to create new meals, I don’t like to waste. The first stuffing I made was with brown rice, finely chopped mushrooms, some onion; I also threw in some leftover lean pork cooked with fresh garlic. I had some extra beef broth so I used that and some regular stuffing mix I also had left over. Make sure your stuffing has a strong flavor; the acorn squash itself has a light flavor to it. The second stuffing which I made last night- I used brown rice again, sautéed onion and left over turkey meatballs, I used a cheese grater to grate them, beef broth and stuffing mix. I wasn’t too crazy about the flavor at first so I added, garlic powder, salt and pepper, teaspoon of butter and a little milk. I don’t measure much when I do my little creations, so I wouldn’t recommend this unless you cook the same way. Constantly taste before adding new things! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The following day I scooped out the stuffing and added sauteed sausage and feta cheese. Very tasty. I guess that for us any vegetarian recipe benefits with the addition of a little meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very good - the directions are definitely backwards - 1) start the rice first (I added celery and carrot), 2) then do the stuffing (on the stove top), 3) then bake the squash. I think the squash needed a salt rub before baking - it was pretty bland. My kids weren't big fans of the squash, so next time I will not stuff them, but cut them into cubes and toss them in with the stuffing and rice before baking. I ended up making only 2 squash, and did the full stuffing/rice recipe, and the extra stuffing filled up a pie pan nicely, and gave the kids a better stuffing to squash ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States