Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Really yum! I tried replacing cornbread stuffing, rice and omitting mushrooms with all herbed stuffing mix and chunks of white meat chicken (like Thanksgiving). Serve with homemade cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this recipe as is. I personally had no trouble making in the order as written. The stuffing was very moist. I can comment I would bake the squash longer. Considering squash comes in all shapes and sizes, this was not enough time for mine to be "right". Maybe another 30 minutes on top of the stated time. I used plain wild rice (didn't have mix on hand) and yes I did have extra stuffing, but not a lot. It is more on the savory side. Next time, I would add "fake" sausage (for a veggie meal) and maybe dried cherries. But that is a different recipe for another time. Pretty good over all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was just ok. No one really ate it. I enjoyed the filling but the squash was dry and tasteless. I did have to substitute another type of squash since acorns aren't in season yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made this dish several times with and with out meat. I use bulk sausage. It always is a hit in my family. Never has turned out dry and others have stated. Thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robtandlinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Dry, add something like apples for moisture. Also, cooking time for squash needs to be increased and cook stuffing first. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I improvised some, but this was a fantastic meal! I had to cook the squash about 10 min longer than the recipe indicated in both places. I don't care for mushrooms, I didn't have any sage, and I only had chicken stock, so those were all left out/subsituted. I used an Uncle Ben's wild rice mix (one small box) since there weren't any bags of it in my neighborhood store, but it was great anyway! As another reviewer suggessted, I added dried cranberries, which was absolutely perfect. Not to mention being tasty, it is healthy and filling. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
If you are veg, try and give this dish moisture by adding sliced apple. Ooooh so yum. I am not veg, but I add apple suasage slices to this. Again for the meat eaters out there, YUMMY. The sausage and apple go nicely with the wild rice. A little brown sugar and "REAL" butter are the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
LOVE this recipe!! I make it ALL the time and still continue to love it. It is so easy to change up too. I like to use quinoa and cut up chunks of butternut squash in it instead of acorn squash. It's a go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
It is delicious! Easy to cook, looks great on the table. My guests were impressed! A perfect vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this vegetarian entree for Thanksgiving. Me and my husband loved it so much that I made it for Christmas. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States