Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I ignored the order of the instructions as indicated in other reviews which was helpful. I made the rice and stuffing individually using broth instead of water. I sauteed shallots, garlic, green apples, celery and mushrooms in olive oil and then combined this mixture with dried cranberries, pecans, the rice and stuffing. I topped the stuffed squash with French's onions and grated parmesan which browned nicely. This recipe was flavorful, filling and tastes wonderfully of Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this vegetarian entree for Thanksgiving. Me and my husband loved it so much that I made it for Christmas. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was fantastic. The only problem was that the recipe is listed in a bad order, I'm going to make it in the exact opposite order next time. It was also very good with little cubes of chicken mixed in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
If you are veg, try and give this dish moisture by adding sliced apple. Ooooh so yum. I am not veg, but I add apple suasage slices to this. Again for the meat eaters out there, YUMMY. The sausage and apple go nicely with the wild rice. A little brown sugar and "REAL" butter are the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I added vegetarian sausage to this dish to make is a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My husband LOVED this!!! The stuffing was amazing. I bought all ingredients from Trader Joes. Now the stuffing is the one I go to for Thanksgiving! Its delicious on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Great dish! I made this dish for my vegan mom and she really liked it. I added dried cranberries, which turned the dish a little too sweet than I would've liked, but overall I got positive reviews. I think I overcooked the rice and stuffing mix because the texture turned out to be close to that of mashed potatoes. Also, you don't have to use the packaged stuffing. If you make your own stuffing, you can use that instead, because it's difficult to find packaged stuffing that is vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Honestly I completely did my own thing; I give it a 5 star rating because of the concept of stuffing the squash. I’ve made two different stuffings for these and they both came out great. I love using leftovers to create new meals, I don’t like to waste. The first stuffing I made was with brown rice, finely chopped mushrooms, some onion; I also threw in some leftover lean pork cooked with fresh garlic. I had some extra beef broth so I used that and some regular stuffing mix I also had left over. Make sure your stuffing has a strong flavor; the acorn squash itself has a light flavor to it. The second stuffing which I made last night- I used brown rice again, sautéed onion and left over turkey meatballs, I used a cheese grater to grate them, beef broth and stuffing mix. I wasn’t too crazy about the flavor at first so I added, garlic powder, salt and pepper, teaspoon of butter and a little milk. I don’t measure much when I do my little creations, so I wouldn’t recommend this unless you cook the same way. Constantly taste before adding new things! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
It is delicious! Easy to cook, looks great on the table. My guests were impressed! A perfect vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
LOVE this recipe!! I make it ALL the time and still continue to love it. It is so easy to change up too. I like to use quinoa and cut up chunks of butternut squash in it instead of acorn squash. It's a go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States