Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
My family is trying to eat healthier-including having vegetarian meals several nights a week-this recipe is vegetarian friendly--it only required substituting vegetable broth for chicken broth..simple to do. It wasn't a real rave dinner but most of the family-except the 10 year old-thought it was ok-not wonderful but ok. Son in law is allergic to mushrooms so I threw in a handful of dried cranberries-for some reason it sounded good and did add a touch of sweetness to a savory dish. Easy to make when you microwave the acorn squash for 10 minutes instead of using the oven to soften them and again use the microwave at the end to heat the stuffed squash. I used a rice cooker to make the wild rice mix then put it into the onion, garlic and broth skillet at the end to give the rice a bit of flavor. I'll try it again in a couple of months and add a leek or two to the onion mix..I love using leeks in my soups and I think it would add a lot to this dish. I also used last nights left over corn bread as we had half a pan left and it was also left out and got dried out..perfect to crumble up and fold into the mixture at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely delicious! The listed sequence needs adjusting, as mentioned in other reviews. It should be: step 3, step 1, step 2 then step 4. Anyway, I will certainly make it again, possibly with either dried cranberries or chopped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I've made this several different ways and everytime it's so unbelievably good. I've added ground Italian sausage, celery and dried cranberries. With the rice and stuffing base have fun adding whatever your tastebuds are calling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Good as a side dish. 1/4 squash was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Not a fan. Just didn't taste very good in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! It's nice to find some meatless recipes that don't rely on tons of cheese for all their flavor. I eliminated about half the butter from the stuffing mix, and didn't miss it. You can speed up cooking the squash by starting it in the microwave. I had a lot of extra stuffing mix that didn't fit into the squash but it's so tasty I won't have any trouble using it up as a lunch or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
A great recipe and one I modified to make quicker by using Rice-A-Roni wild rice. The vegitarians in the family loved it. The only problem I could see is a whole half of squash is a very large portion, especially for a child, so we cut ours in quarters after we stuffed them, but the next time we will cube up the squash and serve it in individual dishes as others have suggested. I do not like squash, but from the raves I got, everyone else does! A very happy cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
These babies got GOBBLED UP on Thanksgiving! I did add dried cranberries, but otherwise made as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
YUM! This taste like Thanksgiving and love. Absolute new favorite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States