Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Tried this recipe as written first and didn't enjoy it. It didn't taste bad, just very bland. After seasoning changes it was a solid four, and I think with a couple more changes it could easily be a 5. Replaced water with chicken broth, changed green bell pepper to red, upped black pepper to a full tsp. Added 1 tsp curry powder, 1 tsp salt, 2 tsp celery seed, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 Tbsp minced garlic. Next time will omit almonds and add sliced mushrooms and possibly spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This soup was so good! I reduced some almond milk on the stove, in place of the half-and-half, and didn't use slivered almonds or parsley and it was awesome! Rosemary also blends well with this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I liked how I made it. My husband has a gluten and lactose intolerance and so I left out the flour and cream. For the liquid I only used chicken broth. This soup was delicious! My kids even went back for another bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
We thought this soup was great. My husband even said it was good enough to serve guests. I think I may try cooked turkey in it next time. Oh, I added a packet of seasoning from one of the wild rice boxes for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I thought this soup was absolutely delicious (and so did my boyfriend!). I didn't use the almonds, and used dried instead of fresh parsley, and the soup came out great! DEFINITELY a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Delicious! A really filling, hearty soup. I added an 8 oz. container of sliced mushrooms, and it was very good; this would also be easy to add chicken to. Thanks for the great recipe; I will be making it quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I made this soup this evening. It was fantastic! The celery isn't listed above, but it is referenced to in the directions. I'm not crazy about celery, so I left it out. I also used fat-free half and half to lower the fat content. I will defintely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Best soup ever. Used around half the cream and didn't buy celery as it is not in the ingred list but it is in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States