Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is a GREAT hearty soup/stew! I LOVE wild rice soup, and this was the best I've tasted! I followed some of the suggestions by coking the rice in broth, and doubled the amount of rice. I also added some bouillion to the broth mixture before adding in the cream. I also used milk instead of cream. It was still very thick and creamy! What a great dinner, and the family really liked it! Even my picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Yum!! I also added half a cup of white wine near the end. This just finished it off perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe turned out to be the perfect base for a turkey soup. I included three turkey legs (most of meat removed) into the rice cooking water and then transferred them with the rice into broth. I used a wild rice mix instead of just wild rice, the full 2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2, added 1.5 carrots and 2 celery stalks and 1/2 cup of turkey chunks. My husband was extra complimentary about this recipe. As other reviewers noted, it is a creamy, soothing soup that is good for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasperbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Delicious and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Loved it! Tripled the recipe for our crew and everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I just love this fast and easy soup! I served it with tuna salad sandwiches and it was all gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I LOVE this recipe and have made it several times this fall since discovering it. I tried it "as is" and then made it healthier (couldn't tell the difference) by using 2T butter and fat free half and half. I also added 2-3 cups chopped turkey or chicken, 1/2 tsp crushed dried thyme, 1/2 tsp. crushed dried parsley, fresh ground pepper. Everyone raves when I make this and I've shared the recipe with several people already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Excellent and easy. I substituted chicken stock for the water and used FAT FREE 1/2 and 1/2 with about 2TBL fresh rosemary. Next time, I'm adding chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This soup was awesome!! I modified it by adding increasing the rice and vegetables and added chopped fresh mushrooms. I reduced the half-and-half and substituted 2% milk and some flour to thicken it just a bit. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
very creamy and easy to make. tastes pretty good too. eat with sandwiches or alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States