Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
So awesome! I just fixed this for my husband on a cold, rainy night & it warmed us right up! I made a few alterations: used fat free half/half, cut up some chicken tenderloins and placed them in the pot with the cooking rice, used chicken broth to boil rice instead of water, and cut the butter in half. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirminghamBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I added lots more wild rice and also added some pepper, thyme, & parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
soup was smooth and lite. Will try adding cooked shredded chicken to make a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This soup was delicious! I followed the recipe with just a few changes. I used 1 cup wild rice. Instead of water, I cooked the wild rice in chicken broth. I only used a 1/4 cup margarine as suggested by another review. I used an extra cup of chicken broth. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of the following: parsley, thyme, pepper and red pepper flakes. Turned out great and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made a few changes based on other reviews. Added more rice & chicken, used less butter. 1/2 tsp of parsley 1/2 tsp of thyme, used fat free half-n-half & two stalks of celery and two carrots, only half of a small white onion & some black pepper. It was fantastic!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This soup was excellent. I made it for a Superbowl party and everyone had seconds plus wanted some to take home. Highly recommend. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is a GREAT hearty soup/stew! I LOVE wild rice soup, and this was the best I've tasted! I followed some of the suggestions by coking the rice in broth, and doubled the amount of rice. I also added some bouillion to the broth mixture before adding in the cream. I also used milk instead of cream. It was still very thick and creamy! What a great dinner, and the family really liked it! Even my picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Yum!! I also added half a cup of white wine near the end. This just finished it off perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe turned out to be the perfect base for a turkey soup. I included three turkey legs (most of meat removed) into the rice cooking water and then transferred them with the rice into broth. I used a wild rice mix instead of just wild rice, the full 2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2, added 1.5 carrots and 2 celery stalks and 1/2 cup of turkey chunks. My husband was extra complimentary about this recipe. As other reviewers noted, it is a creamy, soothing soup that is good for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasperbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Delicious and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States