Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
WONDERFUL! Great on croissants. My husband didn't think he would like the grapes (kind of a meat and potatotes guy) but he really liked it; moreso with the grapes than without. I didn't add the almonds this time only because I didn't have any. This was heavy on the rice so if you prefer more chicken you may want to consider modifying the recipe accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Very good salad...I toasted the almonds before adding it to the salad and it gave it a great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This recipe is easy and delicious! I loved the mix of flavors. I used 2 large links of turkey keilbasa and added fresh curly parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I rated this recipe a five but i changed it all around so maybe it's not. Anyway i guessetamated the mayo/sugar/vinegar/salt and pepper, using far less than instructed. I used cashews instead of almonds, very few grapes and used a can of chicken instead of turkey. Regardless i consider this an A+ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I'm only giving this a 3 star rating, but it might be my own fault it wasn't that great. I couldn't find a 6 oz pkg of wild rice anywhere-- I mean just the wild rice-- so I used a 6 oz box of Uncle Ben's white and wild and didn't use the seasoning packet. It was pretty good the first day, but as the week went on (I make things to take to lunch at work the whole week) it got kind of soggy. I really wish I could have found the wild rice in the store I shop at, but maybe will have to try again and amend my rating.... It is pretty tasty the first day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I make this all the time. I'ts so delicious - and I even use fat free mayo. It's wonderful for the hot summer months when you don't want the oven on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAUTZCAOPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I too couldn't find just one 6oz pkg of wild rice so I measured 1cup's worth and cooked it per the directions on the bag. Also, I added a splash of lemon juice to the mayo mix and used cashews instead of almonds. A very "summer salad" = great for the hot days we've been having around here!! Thanks Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I make this salad all the time! I love it! Make sure you use light or fat free mayo, regular gives it less flavor and a more greasy feel to it. I add a tad more sugar and use cider vinegar. Another great variation is to add mandarin oranges and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BMASOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belgrade, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Centre, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This is a very good salad that gets recipe requests everytime I take it to a function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Great salad recipe. I am extremely picking about the ingredients/flavors in salads, but this is so yummy. The flavors are pretty mild and the ingredients go very well together. And, it's healthy! I substituted chicken instead of turkey, but I'm sure it tastes similar. I also used 3/4c. of organic wild rice blend instead of a packaged mix. The slivered almonds add great texture. This is a nice salad to bring to a picnic or potluck too. I will be using this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnetonka Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States