Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This is a very good soup. Made it using an instant wild rice mix (also added the seasoning packet from the box). I didn't bother to puree anything and think it turned out terrific. My sick husband really liked it. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
My family and I absolutely loved this soup. The flavor was great. I did find it to be pretty thick, so I simply added some milk to get a good consistency. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretta Wells

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I love this chowder. The flavor is great! It has become my favorite soup. I've cooked it as is several times and also left out the carrotts. Either way it is great. Just be sure you leave ample time to cook the rice. Also, have extra chicken broth on hand for leftovers as it tends to get thicker as the days go by and the rice absorbs the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This was good. I added a coarsely chpd red bell pepper & some roasted garlic I had in the fridge. I also added more leftover chicken to increase the protein. It makes a lg amount and is filling. But if you plan to have several people over, I'd recommend it. It was simple, tasted good, smelled good & looked good. Crusty bread (especially with euro style butter) goes quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
It was very easy to make, good flavor and it does help to add more chicken stock. I also added more chicken and it was a very hearty soup for our cold winter days, but it is less than appetizing to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRATIOTBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This was soooo good and easy to make. I will definitely make it again. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Excellent recipe! Doubled the chicken, brushed melted butter and poultry seasoning on the chicken and then broiled. Used canned chicken broth, added minced garlic to the sauteed vegetables and then plenty of garlic powder, some salt and pepper. Thank you...this will definitely be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this recipe for my very picky family and they loved it! It's so simple and great for when the weathers cold. It was better than any soup in any resturaunt and it's great to hear my family say, "I can't believe you made this"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
i gave it the five stars only after addign a lot of salt...but once the salt was in there it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this recipe on a cold fall night for my husband and Mother-in-law and it was absoulutly perfect. The soup was full of flavor, creamy, and totally wonderful. The ingrediants seemed a bit simple when I looked at it, but after trying it I could eat this every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States