Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
A great soup for wild rice lovers, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was extremely good! I added a bit extra chicken (3 boneless skinless breasts, pan fried in butter). I also used a 3 rice blend, because that's what I could find in the store - I think it was wild, regular, and red rice. It didn't have to cook as long as the directions stated. It was SO good! Next time, I'm not going to bother pureeing it, because it was just fine without that step, and that way I won't have to clean the darn food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I loved this recipe! I did use half and half instead of the heavy cream. It wasn't very thick, but use it if you want it more like soup than chowder. I added mushrooms and garlic as well. Will definitly make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I did do as another person suggested and sauted the chicken (2 cups) in Italian seasoning and Garlic before sticking everything in a crockpot to cook on high for 4 hrs. This is perfect for a fall/winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I really liked this chowder with just a few changes. First, I used 2 pounds cut up chicken breast stir fried in minced garlic with 1 tablespoon italian spice. I used my crockpot to cook it all in and added the heavy cream 1 hour before serving. I did not puree any of the soup and it still came out thick and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Made the recipe as written. I think that was my mistake. It was terribly bland. i used regular wild rice like listed in recipe, no seasoning packet. The other person was right, not a very visually appetizing dish. I would not make this again, even with a seasoning packet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I make this AT LEAST twice a month! It is so easy, nutritious, and YUMMY! Thank you, Michelle, for this awesome recipe! FYI, I always add thyme and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Great flavor. Needs less rice or more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This is a very good soup. Made it using an instant wild rice mix (also added the seasoning packet from the box). I didn't bother to puree anything and think it turned out terrific. My sick husband really liked it. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States