Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Hearty and tasty! Threw this together for a quick lunch for a friend and I. I agree pureeing 2 cups of the soup is key to the consistency. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was great! Had wonderful flavor and texture! I forgot the bay leaf but oh well....maybe next time. Pureeing the 2 cups of soup is a must for a chowder like consistency. Definitely will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was hearty and delicious -- a perfect fall soup! Like other posters, I bumped up the chicken, and I also used a can of evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Ann Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was wonderful! I sauteed the breast halves and set aside. Then I sauteed the onion, garlic, and celery, adding a tsp of Italian seasoning (as recommended by Laurey1). I proceeded as directed, using a wild/brown rice medley. After 45 minutes, I added the carrots and chopped chicken. This was sooooo delicious, hardly anyone spoke at the dinner table (a rarity)! My 2 year old even ate two whole bowls (also a rarity!) Will definitely be making this again. Soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was a very good and filling chowder. My husband and I both really liked it. My 2 year old liked it, but my 4 & 6 year olds did not really care for it. I used Basmati rice, which is what I had. I didn't have celery, so I used cream of celery soup. I also did not have a bay leaf, so I left it out. Everything else was the same. I did not puree the soup and I don't think it would have made a difference. I shredded the chicken before adding it. It did make a very thick chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
One of the best soups I've ever made! At my husband's request, I left out the cream and did not puree the soup--it was divine. Such a great flavor from such simple ingredients! We were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Excellent soup/chowder. The only addition I made was to add fresh sliced mushrooms. The flavor was fantastic. I skipped the "puree" step because I felt the consistency was great the way it was. This is definitely a "keeper" recipe. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
YUM! I loved the taste of this soup and did not have to add anything to it. I did use brown basmati rice, though, and I thought it really added to the flavor. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendizcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was really good. I used canned and cooked wild rice, so that cut my cooking time down quite a bit. Also, as other readers have said, be careful if you are using chicken broth as some of them have lots of salt. I had used Tone's Chicken Base and it is very salty...so I didn't add any additional salt to the chowder. In the end I ended up using 2 cans of cooked wild rice, 3 chicken breasts (boneless), 5 cups of broth and then the rest of the ingredients listed by Michelle. My family loved it, even my 4 year old. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe was impressive. Very simple, earthy and elegant. The next day it's even better but it thickens up a lot. Just add more canned stock and a dash of milk or cream. Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States