Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Hearty and tasty! Threw this together for a quick lunch for a friend and I. I agree pureeing 2 cups of the soup is key to the consistency. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was great! Had wonderful flavor and texture! I forgot the bay leaf but oh well....maybe next time. Pureeing the 2 cups of soup is a must for a chowder like consistency. Definitely will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was hearty and delicious -- a perfect fall soup! Like other posters, I bumped up the chicken, and I also used a can of evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Ann Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was wonderful! I sauteed the breast halves and set aside. Then I sauteed the onion, garlic, and celery, adding a tsp of Italian seasoning (as recommended by Laurey1). I proceeded as directed, using a wild/brown rice medley. After 45 minutes, I added the carrots and chopped chicken. This was sooooo delicious, hardly anyone spoke at the dinner table (a rarity)! My 2 year old even ate two whole bowls (also a rarity!) Will definitely be making this again. Soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was a very good and filling chowder. My husband and I both really liked it. My 2 year old liked it, but my 4 & 6 year olds did not really care for it. I used Basmati rice, which is what I had. I didn't have celery, so I used cream of celery soup. I also did not have a bay leaf, so I left it out. Everything else was the same. I did not puree the soup and I don't think it would have made a difference. I shredded the chicken before adding it. It did make a very thick chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
One of the best soups I've ever made! At my husband's request, I left out the cream and did not puree the soup--it was divine. Such a great flavor from such simple ingredients! We were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Excellent soup/chowder. The only addition I made was to add fresh sliced mushrooms. The flavor was fantastic. I skipped the "puree" step because I felt the consistency was great the way it was. This is definitely a "keeper" recipe. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
YUM! I loved the taste of this soup and did not have to add anything to it. I did use brown basmati rice, though, and I thought it really added to the flavor. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendizcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was really good. I used canned and cooked wild rice, so that cut my cooking time down quite a bit. Also, as other readers have said, be careful if you are using chicken broth as some of them have lots of salt. I had used Tone's Chicken Base and it is very salty...so I didn't add any additional salt to the chowder. In the end I ended up using 2 cans of cooked wild rice, 3 chicken breasts (boneless), 5 cups of broth and then the rest of the ingredients listed by Michelle. My family loved it, even my 4 year old. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe was impressive. Very simple, earthy and elegant. The next day it's even better but it thickens up a lot. Just add more canned stock and a dash of milk or cream. Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States