Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Duh716
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I omitted celery and added garlic, dash of red pepper and some cheddar cheese I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It was pretty good. I added some oregano and basil while it simmered on the stove. ADD cheese at the end, it makes it come together well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Good, thick soup. I left out the celery and added about a tablespoon of minced garlic. I also added an extra cup of chicken stock because the soup was a little thick for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delectable, but I had to add a lot of spices, especially Cajun powder (or, more specifically, Special Sh*t).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Good flavor, texture. Love the wild rice. Thanks! The only change I make is substituting lactose free milk for the cream since I am allergic to cream. Makes it not as thick of a chowder as the recipe calls for, but it works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicadw10
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is great! Perfect homemade chicken wild rice soup. Best part: gluten free!!! I cooked mine in a crock pot and the rice took a long time to cook, but once it was done I added the 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and it was ready to eat right away. I added salt to taste. Also - I did not puree anything, it is already thick enough. I also added extra chicken. Next time I will add mushrooms, then it will be perfect. LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is such a delicious fall dish! I had to make a few changes due to a lack of ingredients, I didn't use carrots but I added 1 chopped turnip, 6 chopped baby potatoes, and I substituted the heavy cream with a mixture of 1/2 c milk and 4 tbsp of butter. The texture turned out perfectly, even my picky family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent. The family loved it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
absolutely wonderful. Great texture, perfect flavor, reminds me of Grandma's Grill Wild Rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Pretty good! I wanted to make soup at the last minute for lunch today and this didn't take any more than thirty minutes to make PLUS I was able to use some canned foods out of my pantry. I used a pkg. of Uncle Ben's rice, canned white chicken (think the big cans you can buy at Costco), and a large can of mushrooms, rinsed. I did stir a half cup of fresh parmesan cheese into the hot, cooked rice before combining it with the soup. Very filling and most comforting on an overcast day like today. This made enough to eat on for the rest of the week, too.....combined with half a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States