Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
I really enjoyed this recipe - it's different and tasty. A couple of tips: add the carrots later in the cooking process. After simmering with the rice for an hour, they got pretty soft. Also, be careful when you put the soup in the blender - because it is so hot, it flares up when you run the blender. Leave plenty of room for steam to escape - it might be safer to blend it in two batches of 1 cup each, unless your blender pitcher is larger than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was pretty good. It had a great texture, I mean, it was wonderful. (It just could have used a bit more flavor). I didn't plan on pureeing it, so I thickened it with some milk and flour. It got pretty thick that way, and I still added the cream. It was smooth, and just thick enough. I would even say it was silky, lol. I added two garlic cloves, and used a grocery store rotisserie chicken. Served with "cheese bread" from this site. Very filling! I got my wild rice at Trader Joe's- much cheaper than it would be elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was extremely good! I added a bit extra chicken (3 boneless skinless breasts, pan fried in butter). I also used a 3 rice blend, because that's what I could find in the store - I think it was wild, regular, and red rice. It didn't have to cook as long as the directions stated. It was SO good! Next time, I'm not going to bother pureeing it, because it was just fine without that step, and that way I won't have to clean the darn food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I really liked this chowder with just a few changes. First, I used 2 pounds cut up chicken breast stir fried in minced garlic with 1 tablespoon italian spice. I used my crockpot to cook it all in and added the heavy cream 1 hour before serving. I did not puree any of the soup and it still came out thick and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This is a great creamy wild rice soup! Taste is similar to the wild rice soup at "Grandma's restaurant in Duluth, Minnesota. I think I will put some mushrooms in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2000
This is a really tasty and wonderfully hearty soup. It does tend to get very thick, so extra liquid is necessary. Also, leaving out the bay leaf and substituting a bouillon/water combination for part of the stock still makes a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I was looking for the perfect recipe to use my wild rice--and I found it! I made this soup for a "tail gate" meal during this year's harvest. My father-in-law said, "There's nothing wrong with this soup," meaning he really, really liked it. My husband agreed that it was a keeper. A change I made was reducing the broth to about 6 cups because I only had about 1 cup wild rice, and I like my soup to be thicker. You absolutely must season this soup, or it will be bland! I used creole seasoning to flavor instead of salt and pepper (creole is a staple in our kitchen). Thanks for the awesome and EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I loved this recipe! I did use half and half instead of the heavy cream. It wasn't very thick, but use it if you want it more like soup than chowder. I added mushrooms and garlic as well. Will definitly make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this recipe on a cold fall night for my husband and Mother-in-law and it was absoulutly perfect. The soup was full of flavor, creamy, and totally wonderful. The ingrediants seemed a bit simple when I looked at it, but after trying it I could eat this every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was really good. I used canned and cooked wild rice, so that cut my cooking time down quite a bit. Also, as other readers have said, be careful if you are using chicken broth as some of them have lots of salt. I had used Tone's Chicken Base and it is very salty...so I didn't add any additional salt to the chowder. In the end I ended up using 2 cans of cooked wild rice, 3 chicken breasts (boneless), 5 cups of broth and then the rest of the ingredients listed by Michelle. My family loved it, even my 4 year old. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States