Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2000
This is a really tasty and wonderfully hearty soup. It does tend to get very thick, so extra liquid is necessary. Also, leaving out the bay leaf and substituting a bouillon/water combination for part of the stock still makes a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
I am a great fan of various types of soup and was looking forward to trying this recipe. Basically, it was average and I have to admit that I never finished the leftovers that I had planned to have the next evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
I really enjoyed this recipe - it's different and tasty. A couple of tips: add the carrots later in the cooking process. After simmering with the rice for an hour, they got pretty soft. Also, be careful when you put the soup in the blender - because it is so hot, it flares up when you run the blender. Leave plenty of room for steam to escape - it might be safer to blend it in two batches of 1 cup each, unless your blender pitcher is larger than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This is a great creamy wild rice soup! Taste is similar to the wild rice soup at "Grandma's restaurant in Duluth, Minnesota. I think I will put some mushrooms in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This was both an easy recipe to make and also very delicious! Everyone in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this recipe on a cold fall night for my husband and Mother-in-law and it was absoulutly perfect. The soup was full of flavor, creamy, and totally wonderful. The ingrediants seemed a bit simple when I looked at it, but after trying it I could eat this every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
i gave it the five stars only after addign a lot of salt...but once the salt was in there it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this recipe for my very picky family and they loved it! It's so simple and great for when the weathers cold. It was better than any soup in any resturaunt and it's great to hear my family say, "I can't believe you made this"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Excellent recipe! Doubled the chicken, brushed melted butter and poultry seasoning on the chicken and then broiled. Used canned chicken broth, added minced garlic to the sauteed vegetables and then plenty of garlic powder, some salt and pepper. Thank you...this will definitely be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This was soooo good and easy to make. I will definitely make it again. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States