Wild Rice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
My husband asked if I could make this once a week! I added chopped broccoli and didn't use onion (I HATE onions). I also topped with bread crumbs and a little more cheese then called for. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
tasty and easy! it's a very open recipe you could add more to it if you wanted, we added green beans and we think that green chiles and fresh mushrooms would've made it super! I would also suggest more cream of mushroom soup, just enought o make it a little more creamy and not too runny. I also used more cheese which held it together alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was delicious! I couldn't stop eating it! As suggested by another reviewer, I sauteed the onion before adding to the rice mixture to give it a more subtle flavor. I used Cream of Chicken soup instead of Cream of Mushroom because of personal preference and I added some chopped broccoli. This was so easy to make, but it's nice enough for company, too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I had pulled some canned chicken, cream of mushroom, and pre-cooked wild rice out of the pantry with a mission to make dinner. Found this recipe and went for it. I didn't have any pimentos, but I don't care for them anyway, so I just skipped that. I used half of a red onion that I had, and I think if you're going to use a red onion-- and probably with a white onion too-- you definitely need to saute it before putting everything together. Mine was way too onion-y. At the suggestion of another reviewer, I opted to skip using the oven on a hot summer night and just heated it in a saucepan, and I added a little garlic. If it hadn't been so onion-strong, it would have turned out perfectly. This definitely makes a good base that you can run with, and with canned chicken & pre-cooked rice, it can make a great hearty dinner in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used plain organic wild rice instead of the prepackaged kind and boiled it in low sodium chicken broth. This dish was creamy and easy to make but lacked a little something. I'll make it again and see if I can figure out what it needs to make it five stars for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was a really good and easy recipe. I made it for my fiance, her brother, and myself and we finished the whole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This recipe was great! I cooked brown and wild rice together in chicken broth instead of using boxed stuff. I also cut up 2 big pork chops instead of the chicken. In a large saucepan I sauteed the onion in some butter and then added 2 cloves of crushed garlic and the pork, along with some herbs and spices. I added 1/2 cup of white wine and simmered the pork until it was done. Then I added two cans of cream of mushroom soup and simmered the mixture until the rice was done. As soon as the rice was done, I added it to the pot. I didn't bother with any cheese or bother putting it in a 9 x 13 pan and heating it up. It was already plenty hot so I just served it right out of the large saucepan. It was so good and easy. Next time I will try it with chicken and some fresh mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This is great! I will definitely make it again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States