Wild Rice Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Personally I prefer the Chicken and Snap Pea Wild Rice Salad also on this site but this one is pretty good too. I'm really not crazy about the grapes, especially as they get soggy in the leftover salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe - I had leftover turkey and used that instead, and it was great. Thanks! I'll be doubling this every time I make it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Made this but put a local food/Minnesota twist to it. Used 1/2 c. celery, 1 chopped apple, and a 1/2 c. blueberries instead of grapes. Amazing! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I'm rating this on the ingredients for the salad but not the dressing as I used Rudolph's Coleslaw dressing. I buy a salad just like this at my grocery store and wanted to duplicate it. This was spot on as far as ingredients go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was something different for me. I don't usually cook with tarragon. I think it's delicious! I added a little extra lemon juice, used a T. of fresh tarragon and substituted most of the mayo for light sour cream and added extra nuts. I like water chestnuts, but really didn't like them in this dish. I'll leave them out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I have made a variation of this MANY times and it has always been pleasantly surprising to those who try it for the first time. My husband is a meat and potato kinda guy and he loves this in the summer time cause it is cool yet not too heavy. The only thing I would say is that all those seasonings in this recipe are really not necessary. Just use the Uncle Bens wild rice just like the box says, the chicken,water chestnuts, mayo, and we use 1cup halved red grapes and 1cup green grapes halved. So good! we like having croissants with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I ? loved ? this salad! I did add double the amount of cashews and grapes and I also cut the water chestnuts in half. I did like it better after the salad sat for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This turned out very good! I added one chopped apple, and added 1/2 cup of celery. I did not add the grapes or the cashew halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is one of my favorite substantial salads. I change it just a little by using an Uncle Ben's Wild Rice box using only about 1/2 to 2/3 of the flavor packet. I then add some extra wild rice so you get the wild rice taste with the softer texture of white rice. The dressing with Tarragon has a unique taste that you kind of have to warm up to. My B-I-L tried it and wasn't thrilled at first but went back for seconds 20 minutes later. I like it because it has everything. The grapes are sweet, the nuts salty, the waterchestnuts crunchy, and the rice soft and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States