Wild Rice Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made a couple of changes. As a starting point this recipe was very good. Instead of cream of potato soup, I used cream of mushroom soup and I cut up one potato and put it in when the milk and soups went in. Instead of plain wild rice, I used the rice-a-roni long grain and wild rice mix with additional white rice to top off the cup the recipe called for. I cooked the rice mixture as you would normally cook rice and put the seasoning packet in when I added the soups, milk, and potatoes. I also added salt, pepper, and corn. Instead of velveeta, I used about a cup of shredded cheddar and some leftover tostitos queso dip (about 1/4 cup) I had. My extremely picky kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have made this soup a few times and my family loves it. Sometimes I use hamburger and sometimes I use shredded chicken. I also substitue the 1 cup of milk for 1 cup of beer, my hubby loves that :) Add my favorite spices and use Velveeta cheese and they eat right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Good but too cheesy - I would use 1/2 the cheese suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Recipe as-is was way too thick. I added some beer to thin it out and that made it a lot better and added another layer of flavor. If I make this again I will definitely decrease the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I used turkey italian sausage and ground turkey. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Wow, this is tasty, and helped me use up some food I needed to use up! I used cut up kielbasa instead of the italian sausage. I also added some fresh mushrooms to saute with the onions and kielbasa. I used all regular milk, no evaporated, since most reviewers claimed this soup to be quite thick. It is quite "chunky", too, so I added an extra can of soup and extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought this soup was a little too thick. Also, I followed the advice of some other reviews and only used half the Velveeta, but I thought the cheese flavor was still too strong. My husband complained because he couldn't even taste the sausage. I don't think we'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good soup. Does get very thick the next day, I had to add more milk to thin it out, but a wonderful taste. I used Jimmy Dean sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Delicious and easy! I made it without the cheese though, because it was so good already, and I wanted to eliminate some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I used the hambuger variation. As a soup it was ok, as leftovers I added more milk and served it over garlic cheese biscuits, that was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States