Wild Rice Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made a couple of changes. As a starting point this recipe was very good. Instead of cream of potato soup, I used cream of mushroom soup and I cut up one potato and put it in when the milk and soups went in. Instead of plain wild rice, I used the rice-a-roni long grain and wild rice mix with additional white rice to top off the cup the recipe called for. I cooked the rice mixture as you would normally cook rice and put the seasoning packet in when I added the soups, milk, and potatoes. I also added salt, pepper, and corn. Instead of velveeta, I used about a cup of shredded cheddar and some leftover tostitos queso dip (about 1/4 cup) I had. My extremely picky kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have made this soup a few times and my family loves it. Sometimes I use hamburger and sometimes I use shredded chicken. I also substitue the 1 cup of milk for 1 cup of beer, my hubby loves that :) Add my favorite spices and use Velveeta cheese and they eat right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Good but too cheesy - I would use 1/2 the cheese suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Recipe as-is was way too thick. I added some beer to thin it out and that made it a lot better and added another layer of flavor. If I make this again I will definitely decrease the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I used turkey italian sausage and ground turkey. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Wow, this is tasty, and helped me use up some food I needed to use up! I used cut up kielbasa instead of the italian sausage. I also added some fresh mushrooms to saute with the onions and kielbasa. I used all regular milk, no evaporated, since most reviewers claimed this soup to be quite thick. It is quite "chunky", too, so I added an extra can of soup and extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought this soup was a little too thick. Also, I followed the advice of some other reviews and only used half the Velveeta, but I thought the cheese flavor was still too strong. My husband complained because he couldn't even taste the sausage. I don't think we'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good soup. Does get very thick the next day, I had to add more milk to thin it out, but a wonderful taste. I used Jimmy Dean sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Delicious and easy! I made it without the cheese though, because it was so good already, and I wanted to eliminate some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I used the hambuger variation. As a soup it was ok, as leftovers I added more milk and served it over garlic cheese biscuits, that was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States