Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
With all the vegetables in it, the chopping took awhile but once it was done, all I had to do was plop it into the oven( maybe a food processor would be quicker?). It is very pleasing to the palate though. I was very pleased with the final result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This was a superb recipe!! I will definately make it again. It was so much simpler to make than other rice casserole type recipes I've tried. Next time I'll experiment and add in some broccoli or toasted pecans. Mmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Excellent dish! Very tasty and delicious. I just love the fact that there's so little preperation required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We have updated the baking time required for this recipe, as indicated in multiple user reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is a wonderfully healthy rice recipe. I love that you can just throw the rice in the pan with your favorite chopped vegies and put it in the oven (stirring every 20-30 min or so). I will definately be using this one again. Thanks Holly. (BTW...i added ginger, soy, and lots of garlic, and to me it was great this way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLOVE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I added lentils and cooked for 90 min. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Even my brother (a chef) liked this recipe. As I did not have bouillon or margarine, I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth (skipped the water) and olive oil. If in a hurry, perhaps pre-chopped vegetables can be found in the produce or frozen foods section of the grocery store. It took 2 hours to cook - not unusual for brown rice - and then I fluffed with a fork, covered again, and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. It would be a great way to use left over meat (chicken, turkey, pork roast, etc) - just cut into bite size pieces and add to casserole about 30 or 45 minutes before serving. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe is easy and healthy. I did make some changes. Instead of garlic and onion powder, I used about 1/2 cup chopped onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I sauteed these in a dutch oven with olive oil, then added the water, rice, bouillion, salt and pepper and brought to a boil. Then I covered and placed in oven at 375. It's important the the water is boiling before going in oven! After 1/2 hour I added the vegetables. I ended up baking for about 70 minutes, but I think it could have baked for another 10 minutes, as some of the wild rice hadn't popped open yet. Very tasty and I love how it uses such colorful vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Overall, I liked this recipe. I cooked it at 375 for an hour and 15 minutes to and an hour and 30 minutes. It definitely wouldn't have been done in an hour at 350. I also added mushrooms, which I sauteed in butter first, and fresh onions and garlic instead of onion powder and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I Love this recipe.. but I hate mushy vegetables so I really recommend partially precooking the rice. I usually put the rice in my rice cooker for about 20-30 minutes. This gives me time to chop and slice the veggies. I just use what ever is in the fridge that needs to be used up. Also not a big fan of powdered flavorings so I add a clove or two of minced garlic and a couple tablespoons of chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States