Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is a wonderfully healthy rice recipe. I love that you can just throw the rice in the pan with your favorite chopped vegies and put it in the oven (stirring every 20-30 min or so). I will definately be using this one again. Thanks Holly. (BTW...i added ginger, soy, and lots of garlic, and to me it was great this way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLOVE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe is easy and healthy. I did make some changes. Instead of garlic and onion powder, I used about 1/2 cup chopped onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I sauteed these in a dutch oven with olive oil, then added the water, rice, bouillion, salt and pepper and brought to a boil. Then I covered and placed in oven at 375. It's important the the water is boiling before going in oven! After 1/2 hour I added the vegetables. I ended up baking for about 70 minutes, but I think it could have baked for another 10 minutes, as some of the wild rice hadn't popped open yet. Very tasty and I love how it uses such colorful vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This wasn't bad, but it was pretty bland and it took a lot longer than an hour for the rice to cook. The veggies, however, were limp by the time I took the dish out of the oven. I wouldn't want to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I cooked this recipe at 350 for an hour and it wasn't near done so I turned up the heat to 450 and still had to cook another hour. The veggies were overdone of course, but the rice was still not quite done and there was lots of liquid sitting on top. I let the entire casserole sit in the oven for another 40 minutes and the rice finally plumped up. The flavor was so/so. I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This receipe is very good when you change a few things around. I suggest adding broccolli instead of red pepper and no celery. Add 1 can veg broth, instead of 1 cube. Add water only as needed. The rice takes far longer to cook, so stiring every 15-20 minutes will help. Add at least 3tbls of salt & pepper for a better taste. Add chicken to this and it turns out great. My kids really do love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was fine for a weeknight meal, though it took a long time to cook. I used broccoli, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms, onions and fresh garlic. I also cooked it at 375 and it still took over an hour, even stirring every 20 minutes. I used chicken broth (all I had on hand). The rice was still a little chewy while the veggies were pretty mushy. I actually really liked it, but my husband wasn't wild and my kids wouldn't eat it past the one required bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I liked the final product, however, it did NOT cook for 1 hour in the oven. I had to finish cooking it in the microwave because my main course was finished and my guests were waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Overall, I liked this recipe. I cooked it at 375 for an hour and 15 minutes to and an hour and 30 minutes. It definitely wouldn't have been done in an hour at 350. I also added mushrooms, which I sauteed in butter first, and fresh onions and garlic instead of onion powder and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I added lentils and cooked for 90 min. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I made this recipe and changed it a lot and it was okay. I made it for a large group (35 people) and the multiple to 30 servings was enough to feed at least fifty as a side dish. If you are multiplying it for more folks, keep that in mind. I left out the bell peppers, put in broccoli, used real onions (I should have used real garlic too) - and used large corningware casserole pans to make it in. It took about an hour and a half to cook, too, but I was making it the day before so that timing difference was okay for me but anyone making this dish should know that that part is a little off in the recipe. Everyone who ate it seemed to like it all right, but in spite of my efforts to follow the suggestions of the other reviewers, it was still kind of bland. If I made it again on a small level I might do it in the pressure cooker and add some zingy spices. I don't discourage people from trying this recipe because it is a very healthy one, but if you do try it you might want to practice with it first on a small level with some of your favorite spices before serving it to a group of guests. This recipe is a good effort at healthy food and I do like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States