Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Even my brother (a chef) liked this recipe. As I did not have bouillon or margarine, I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth (skipped the water) and olive oil. If in a hurry, perhaps pre-chopped vegetables can be found in the produce or frozen foods section of the grocery store. It took 2 hours to cook - not unusual for brown rice - and then I fluffed with a fork, covered again, and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. It would be a great way to use left over meat (chicken, turkey, pork roast, etc) - just cut into bite size pieces and add to casserole about 30 or 45 minutes before serving. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I Love this recipe.. but I hate mushy vegetables so I really recommend partially precooking the rice. I usually put the rice in my rice cooker for about 20-30 minutes. This gives me time to chop and slice the veggies. I just use what ever is in the fridge that needs to be used up. Also not a big fan of powdered flavorings so I add a clove or two of minced garlic and a couple tablespoons of chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We have updated the baking time required for this recipe, as indicated in multiple user reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
The cooking time was an hour longer than the recipe called for, but it turned out great once it was finally done. I wonder if cooking the rice before baking would be a better idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Overall, I liked this recipe. I cooked it at 375 for an hour and 15 minutes to and an hour and 30 minutes. It definitely wouldn't have been done in an hour at 350. I also added mushrooms, which I sauteed in butter first, and fresh onions and garlic instead of onion powder and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I added lentils and cooked for 90 min. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe is easy and healthy. I did make some changes. Instead of garlic and onion powder, I used about 1/2 cup chopped onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I sauteed these in a dutch oven with olive oil, then added the water, rice, bouillion, salt and pepper and brought to a boil. Then I covered and placed in oven at 375. It's important the the water is boiling before going in oven! After 1/2 hour I added the vegetables. I ended up baking for about 70 minutes, but I think it could have baked for another 10 minutes, as some of the wild rice hadn't popped open yet. Very tasty and I love how it uses such colorful vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This wasn't bad, but it was pretty bland and it took a lot longer than an hour for the rice to cook. The veggies, however, were limp by the time I took the dish out of the oven. I wouldn't want to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I cooked this recipe at 350 for an hour and it wasn't near done so I turned up the heat to 450 and still had to cook another hour. The veggies were overdone of course, but the rice was still not quite done and there was lots of liquid sitting on top. I let the entire casserole sit in the oven for another 40 minutes and the rice finally plumped up. The flavor was so/so. I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was fine for a weeknight meal, though it took a long time to cook. I used broccoli, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms, onions and fresh garlic. I also cooked it at 375 and it still took over an hour, even stirring every 20 minutes. I used chicken broth (all I had on hand). The rice was still a little chewy while the veggies were pretty mushy. I actually really liked it, but my husband wasn't wild and my kids wouldn't eat it past the one required bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States