Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Great with any seasonal vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
add peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I added two tablespoons of capers for a little zip. I think adding green beans would be good too. It took about an hour and 20 to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Even my brother (a chef) liked this recipe. As I did not have bouillon or margarine, I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth (skipped the water) and olive oil. If in a hurry, perhaps pre-chopped vegetables can be found in the produce or frozen foods section of the grocery store. It took 2 hours to cook - not unusual for brown rice - and then I fluffed with a fork, covered again, and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. It would be a great way to use left over meat (chicken, turkey, pork roast, etc) - just cut into bite size pieces and add to casserole about 30 or 45 minutes before serving. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I Love this recipe.. but I hate mushy vegetables so I really recommend partially precooking the rice. I usually put the rice in my rice cooker for about 20-30 minutes. This gives me time to chop and slice the veggies. I just use what ever is in the fridge that needs to be used up. Also not a big fan of powdered flavorings so I add a clove or two of minced garlic and a couple tablespoons of chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We have updated the baking time required for this recipe, as indicated in multiple user reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
The cooking time was an hour longer than the recipe called for, but it turned out great once it was finally done. I wonder if cooking the rice before baking would be a better idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Overall, I liked this recipe. I cooked it at 375 for an hour and 15 minutes to and an hour and 30 minutes. It definitely wouldn't have been done in an hour at 350. I also added mushrooms, which I sauteed in butter first, and fresh onions and garlic instead of onion powder and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I added lentils and cooked for 90 min. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe is easy and healthy. I did make some changes. Instead of garlic and onion powder, I used about 1/2 cup chopped onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I sauteed these in a dutch oven with olive oil, then added the water, rice, bouillion, salt and pepper and brought to a boil. Then I covered and placed in oven at 375. It's important the the water is boiling before going in oven! After 1/2 hour I added the vegetables. I ended up baking for about 70 minutes, but I think it could have baked for another 10 minutes, as some of the wild rice hadn't popped open yet. Very tasty and I love how it uses such colorful vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States